Watching The 1952 World Series On The MLB Classics YouTube Channel

Did you know about this?  I didn’t know about this!

The other day I stumbled across the fact that there’s an MLBClassics YouTube channel (part of the MLB Advanced Media group) and it has a nice selection of complete TV broadcasts of postseason games, All-Star games and no-hitters.

I immediately got sucked into the game they have featured right now, game 7 of the 1952 World Series between the Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Yankees.  Here’s the 1970 Fleer Laughlin World Series card for that year…

1970 Fleer World Series 49 Yankees Dodgers

1970 Fleer World Series 49 Back

I love to watch footage of baseball games from before I started to follow baseball… Naturally I enjoy watching players I’d never seen on a field before, but a big part of the appeal is just watching to see how the game has changed in the past 62 years, and how much of it was different even from when I started watching baseball in the 1970’s.

One thing I found really interesting was that they raised the flag while playing the National Anthem. I don’t remember having seen that before, I’ve always seen the flag flying when I enter a ballpark. I wonder if it was some sort of logistical change brought about by the big multi-purpose stadiums (sheer conjecture on my part).
52 WS G7 Flag being raised
The 48-star American flag, which most of us have never seen in use, looks really, really odd flying in Ebbets Field.  Even for a middle-aged guy like me, the flag has always had 50 stars.

If nothing else, you should watch the first 10 minutes to see the “pre-game show” and see all of the warm-up activity, the views of Ebbets Field, the two starting pitchers warming up near home plate, plus one of the groundskeepers putting down lines in a way that I that went out of style sometime before I started following baseball.
52 WS G7 Pre Game Home Plate
In this screen grab, you’ve got Yankees starting pitcher Eddie Lopat on the far left, Dodgers starting pitcher Joe Black on the far right, and the other guys are all groundskeepers.

At this point in the video I smiled because the “without the express consent of the Commissioner” legal disclaimer is very similar to what you hear today.

Here’s a cool dugout shot of Jackie Robinson and Steve Garvey!
52 WS G7 J Robinson and Furillo
Rightfielder Carl Furillo is the guy wearing #6 for the Dodgers, but when I see Dodgers & “6” on a jersey, my mind immediately goes to Garvey.

Here’s something I thought was fascinating… The broadcast was pretty primitive, especially by today’s standards, but they did some neat tricks that weren’t needed as technology advanced. With a runner on first, they did a sort of “double-exposure” in order to show the pitcher and batter on the left, as well as the runner and first baseman on the right.
52 WS G7 picture in picture
When the pitcher threw over to first, the path the ball seems to take is disconcerting.

Duke Snider hit a foul ball that skipped in front of the stands on the first base side. That happens today and people are doing everything they can to get the ball without technically going out on the field.
52 WS G7 Snider Foul ball
In this game, there’s the one guy in the lower right you see who made any kind of effort, another guy made a quick swipe without bending over much, and everybody else pretty much ignored the ball.

The Ebbets Field dugouts had posts supporting the roof, and Casey Stengel figured the post wouldn’t mind supporting him as well.
52 WS G7 Casey Stengel

Anyway, I could go on for hours… Do yourself a favor and check this out.  They’ve got entire broadcasts of no-hitters, perfect games, World Series, All-Star games and League Championship games from every decade since the 1950’s.

Quick update:  I went back and watched more of the game and noticed that a foul ball into the right field corner got much more of an effort out of the fans.  Perhaps the VIP’s down the first base line are too distinguished to be going after foul balls.

Also, I noticed that the P.A. announcer for the Dodgers announced the Yankees catcher as “Larry Berra”, although Mel Allen calls him “Yogi”

5 thoughts on “Watching The 1952 World Series On The MLB Classics YouTube Channel

  1. Oh man I can’t wait to watch this, thanks for the tip! I’ve been getting into a bit of an OTR baseball kick the past few weeks, for many of the same reasons you state here. Awesome stuff!

    • It’s funny, even though I know who’s going to win the game, I’ve found myself rooting against the Yankees. It’s kind of ludicrous when you think about it – “C’mon, you guy from 62 years ago, get on base!” – but it just speaks to the emotions that underlie all of this.

  2. The MLB Classic Games on the You Tube Channel are Awesome! Have Been Watching Them for a Long Time. Just Finished Game 6 of the 1975 World Series Between My Red Sox and The Big Red Machine…..So Cool.

  3. Pingback: Random Awesomeness (part 180) | The Writer's Journey

Leave a Reply

