NBCSN Has Curling For The Next Six Fridays! (Squeals Like A Little Girl)

The other day my Tivo tipped me off to something exciting for Americans like me who haven’t been able to watch curling since Sochi… Starting tonight, NBC Sports Network (NBCSN) is going to have “Curling Night In America” for six straight Fridays!
2014 Topps Olympics Ice Cube Curling Center
You can see the press release here.

This coverage is from the inaugural U.S. Curling Grand Prix which took place in Minnesota in early December. It features men’s and women’s teams from the U.S., China, Japan and New Zealand.  I don’t know any more about this, largely because I was afraid if I searched for more specifics on the Curling Grand Prix I’d spoil myself on the results.

2014 Topps Olympics Pete Fenson
Team USA is coached by Pete Fenson, who made a cardboard appearance in the 2014 Topps Olympics set, although he ended up in the category of “Hopefuls” rather than “Olympians” (and went to Sochi as a TV commentator).

As I’ve mentioned here before, I did not come anywhere close to growing up around curling, I came to enjoy it from watching the Olympics. I had no idea what was going on at first, but the more I watched, the more I understood, and the more I understood the more I got into it.

Last year I got into it so much that I created a set of custom curling cards…
2014 TSR Curling - Ayumi Ogasawara
While Japan was represented at the U.S. Curling Grand Prix, I have no idea whether Ayumi Ogasawara was there… But I just like the way this custom turned out.

So needless to say, I will be watching NBC Sports Network tonight!   (…or falling asleep on the couch and watching the recording tomorrow morning.)

3 thoughts on “NBCSN Has Curling For The Next Six Fridays! (Squeals Like A Little Girl)

    • Sorry for the delay on this, it somehow got flagged as potential spam. I’ve only watched one end at this point, but I noticed one of the Chinese women yelling something that sounded like “Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!”

Leave a Reply

