The Mariners Unveil Some Nice Sunday Alts In Their Original Colors

Yesterday the Mariners unveiled some new alternate uniforms they will wear for Sunday games in 2015.  The basic concept sounds simple;  the uniforms are generally the same as their normal home uniform, but done with cream-colored fabric and featuring their original colors of royal blue and gold.

The concept might be simple, but the results are wonderful… Check it out:
2014-15 Hot Stove 1968 Insert Nelson Cruz

The back of the uniforms are old school as well, as they feature larger numbers and leave the players name off the back.

The overall effect of this is really nice, but what I really love about these alts are the hosiery… Check out these Seattle Pilot-esque stirrups!
2014-15 Hot Stove 1968 Insert Awesome Stirrups
You know I’m a complete nerd when I’m making custom baseball cards to feature a uniform element that most people don’t care about.

For the record, the Mariners are going to also have a solid-color sock with the same stripes, and for other days of the week they’ll have stirrups and socks that are striped in their regular colors. With all this hosiery goodness going on, it’d be a shame if the entire team is made up of “pajama pants” guys.


For those of you who are wondering why I’ve strayed away from my “Hot Stove” set that is based on the 1974 Kellogg’s set… part of the reason is that the best photos I could find of the new alts all featured Nelson Cruz, but I’d already photoshopped Nelson Cruz into a Mariner uniform earlier this offseason:
2014-15 TSR Hot Stove #10 Nelson Cruz

I thought about creating a custom in the same design and pitching it as a “variation”, but I didn’t care much for the way it turned out. The relatively narrow Kellogg’s design didn’t really allow the uniform to be showcased the way I wanted it to be.

…But I did want to maintain the faux 3-D theme, so I went with the best non-Kellogg’s option there is for 3-D cards: The 1968 Topps 3-D test issue (which was also made into a Topps Lineage insert in 2011 and an Archives insert in 2012).

I’m happy with the way this custom turned out… maybe I’ll keep this design in mind for the 2015/16 Hot Stove set.

6 thoughts on “The Mariners Unveil Some Nice Sunday Alts In Their Original Colors

Leave a Reply

