Players Who Were In Topps Chrome But Not In Regular Topps, 2009-2014

After doing the research for yesterday’s post, I got carried away again because I became intrigued by the 2010 Topps Chrome Hisanori Takahashi card that did not have a corresponding card in regular Topps or in Topps Update. I’d long viewed Chrome as an uninteresting shiny parallel, I didn’t realize there could be guys in the Chrome checklist that never made a non-shiny appearance.

I started doing comparisons online and in my database, trying to find more Chrome like that… and I found a not insignificant number of cards.  It seemed like a lot of them were similar to Takahashi – rookies who had enough promise to get a Chrome rookie card, but got injured or had a disappointing rookie season.

After all the work I spent researching this, I figured that there may be some interest in the blogging community, so I’ve included my list below.

Now I can’t emphasize this enough, THIS IS NOT A DEFINITIVE LIST!  A lot of the research is based on the data in my database, but the data comes from various oinline sources and may not be entirely correct.  If there’s anybody I missed, or if someone’s here by mistake, please let me know.  I’ll update the post if and when any more information comes in.

2009 Topps Chrome not in S1, S2 or Update
207 – Mike Hinckley – Nationals
208 – Ronald Belisario – Dodgers
209 – Chris Jakubauskas – Mariners
210 – Hunter Jones – Red Sox
211 – Walter Silva – Padres
215 – Anthony Claggett – Yankees
220 – Bobby Scales – Cubs
243 – Chris Jakubauskas – Mariners (NOTE: This is an autograph card)

2010 Topps Chrome not in S1, S2 or update
172 – Bryan Anderson – Cardinals
197 – Brandon Hicks – Braves
194 – Cesar Valdez  – Diamondbacks
214 – Ivan Nova – Yankees
217 – Hisanori Takahashi – Mets

2011 Topps Chrome not in S1, S2 or update
31 – Tommy Hunter – Rangers
33 – Danny Espinosa – Nationals
185 – Matt Young – Braves
197 – Bobby Cramer – Athletics
201 – Vinnie Pestano – Indians
204 – Chris Pettit – Angels
210 – Pedro Strop – Cubs

2012 Topps Chrome not in S1, S2 or Update
5 – Ryan Lavarnway – Red Sox
175 – Leonys Martin – Rangers
185 – Tsuyoshi Wada – Orioles
187 – Adrian Cardenas – Cubs
190 – Matt Hague – Pirates
194 – Wily Peralta – Brewers

2013 Topps Chrome not in S1, S2 or Update
82 – Robbie Grossman – Astros
110 – Matt Magill – Dodgers
112 – Allen Webster – Red Sox

2014 Topps Chrome not in S1, S2 or Update
203 – Jimmy Nelson – Brewers
212 – Dean Anna – Yankees

4 thoughts on “Players Who Were In Topps Chrome But Not In Regular Topps, 2009-2014

  1. After reading your post yesterday I was strongly resisting the urge to go find all the Red Sox cards that fit the bill. You’ve saved me some time here, thanks!

  2. Pingback: Topps Chrome Cards Which Aren’t Just Shiny Parallels | The Shlabotnik Report

  3. Pingback: Players In 2016 Topps Chrome But Not In Series 1 & 2 | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

