Doppelganger! 1994 Topps & Collector’s Choice Mark Whiten

While re-organizing my 1994 cards as part of my latest project, I realized that there was a previously unknown pair of cards to add to my sub-collection of what I call “Doppelgangers”.

My definition of a Doppelganger is a pair of cards from different sets that feature two distinct photos of the same play…  Preferably they would be at more or less the same moment, and the two cards would be different manufacturers.

Both of the “preferable” qualifiers apply to this pair of 1994 cards for Mr. Mark Whiten:

1994 Topps and Collectors Choice Mark Whiten Doppelganger

Both photos are from a Cardinals game at Shea Stadium, most likely from 1993… I didn’t think there would be enough information to figure out the play, but from the way Whiten is about to chuck his helmet, I guessed that he got thrown out at second.  Since there are no Mets around him, I’m also guessing that it was the last out of the inning and all of the Mets had already trotted off the field.

I decided to research it based on my assumptions, and once you factor in “Whiten out at 2nd at Shea in 1993”, it does seem to come down to this play…  June 26th, 1993:  Top of the 6th, Whiten gets on by fielder’s choice, scoring Ozzie Smith.  Whiten then gets caught stealing 2-6 (Todd Hundley to Tim Bogar), and that ends the inning.

Going through my 1994 cards made me realize there were some other Doppelgangers from the early 1990’s which I haven’t gotten around to sharing… I’ll make sure to bump those up in the schedule.

Since I started featuring these during the summer and some of you may have missed them, here are the other two pair of doppelgangers that I’d shared, along with links to the original posts:

1994 Score & Collector’s Choice Greg Meyers
1994 Greg Myers Score and Collectors Choice

1993 Topps & Upper Deck Rick Wilkins
1993 Topps - Upper Deck Rick Wilkins

2 thoughts on “Doppelganger! 1994 Topps & Collector’s Choice Mark Whiten

Leave a Reply

