Pack Animal: 2015 Topps Stickers

So I was in Target last night, and on the way out I found some $1 post topics.

…That is to say that they had packs of 2015 Topps Stickers.
2015 Topps Stickers pack
When I picked up the pack, something about it felt unfamiliar, yet familiar. I’ll get into that in a bit.

The first sticker I saw was Cardinals’ prospect Randal Grichuk…
2015 Topps Stickers Randal Grichuk
…And I made a face at the design.  It wasn’t a good face.

After a couple of years where the Topps Stickers would’ve made decent looking cards – to the point where last year I joked about them being “Adhesive Minis” – we have this design that is… um… not attractive in the slightest.  Not to me, anyway.  Maybe they look better when put in the album… I confess, I didn’t buy the album, so I can’t say.

Next up is a Daniel Murphy sticker.  Will one of these stickers have any more appeal when it’s one of my teams?
2015 Topps Stickers Daniel Murphy
Ahhhhhhh… Yeah, that’s not good.  I will not be buying any more of these suckers.  Just as well, because I never knew what to do with the ones I’ve kept from past years.

They do still have mascots… That’s something that is always a good thing about the stickers…
2015 Topps Stickers Athletics Mascot Stomper
…I find it interesting that certain mascots are listed by name, while others are just “Mascot”.

I also happened to get a sticker that I felt obligated to post, as it features a player who is a favorite of fellow blogger Fuji, Lord and Master over The Chronicles Of Fuji.
2015 Topps Stickers Kurt Suzuki

And this is as good a time as any to go to the one thing I did find interesting about this year’s stickers, and that is their point of origin (circled in red on the back of the Daniel Murphy:
2015 Topps Sticker Daniel Murphy back
Hmmm… Stickers printed in Italy.  Who do we know who prints stickers in Italy?

The size and feel of the stickers is also different from last year’s set.  This year’s stickers are slightly larger than last year’s.  More significantly, last year’s sticker backings were thin cardstock.  These are… well, these are just stickers.  Stickers that are very similar to some Panini NFL Stickers I have in my “Give it away next Halloween” box.

The final piece of damning evidence…  Here’s last year’s pack, which was very similar to a regular Topps pack:
2014 Topps Stickers Wrapper

And here’s a Panini NFL pack from last fall:
2014 Panini NFL Stickers wrapper_0001

Which one of these look like the pack at the beginning of this post?

Anyway, enough of the investigative reporting… To summarize: Stickers ugly, stickers are stickers and not adhesive minis, stickers made in Italy and quite possibly subcontracted to Panini.

Earlier this week we established that nobody but me would be buying 2015 Heritage (Cheap SP’s for me!  Woo-hoo!).  What about these stickers, will anybody be pasting them in their albums?

Leave a Reply

