Stuff That Made Me Think Of Cards

Not that it takes much to get me to think of cards…

The other day I saw something about Dirk Nowitzki retiring, and that made me think of this card I got and have been meaning to post:
2007-08 Topps Basketball 50th Variation Dirk Nowitzki
As it turns out, the “news” about Nowitzki retiring was an April Fool’s joke, which is just as well. Nowitzki is one of the relatively few NBA players I know something about beyond his name (i.e. he’s German), so it just wouldn’t do if he were to retire.

At any rate, I didn’t buy this card because of Nowitzki… well, not entirely. I bought it because I recently became enamored with the simple yet appealing design of the 1957-58 Topps Basketball set, and I proclaimed “I’m going to get me one of them there cards!”

Shortly thereafter, I found out just how expensive them there cards can be, so for the time being I decided to go with a 50th anniversary variation set from 8 years ago. Here’s the back of the card:
2007-08 Topps Basketball 50th Variation Dirk Nowitzki back
It’s not bad, but ultimately unsatisfying. I’ve also been thinking of starting a type collection of vintage Topps basketball , so maybe I’ll start keeping an eye out for relatively cheap commons from the original set.

Regular readers may remember that back in November I made a custom 1957-58 card of Stanford Senior Amber Orrange.
1957 topps basketball Amber Orrange
Aside from the fact that I like her name, I also like any basketball player that’s my height. Amber’s Stanford team made it to the Sweet 16 this year, and she should be taken pretty high up in the upcoming WNBA draft.

Another thing that made me think of a card I’ve been meaning to post was seeing Al Leiter on Rachael Ray’s show.
1992 O-Pee-Chee Al Leiter
Al and Willie Randolph had an Opening Day cook-off, which Al won on the fifth tiebreaker (or something like that). I frankly don’t get the appeal of cooking shows… You can’t smell it, you can’t eat it, you can only see it. I guess maybe it’s like watching golf… You appreciate it more if you do the same activity yourself (and by that I mean cooking, not eating).

By the way, you might be saying to yourself “I know the 1992 Topps set backwards and forwards, and I don’t remember that card of Al Leiter”. That’s because the above card is one of a handful of 1992 OPC’s which don’t have a Topps counterpart.

A third thing that made me think of cards came during an Orioles Spring Training game when they were talking about Carl Yastrzemski’s grandson Mike, who is a minor leaguer in the O’s farm system. I don’t have a card of Mike yet, but I’ve got plenty of cards of Carl.
1968 Topps Game Carl Yastrzemski
…And thanks to The Walking Dead, every time I run across someone named Carl, in my head I’m thinking “Get in the house, Carl!”

The fourth thing that made me think of cards was having a bowl of Kellogg’s Product 19 cereal. Eating Kellogg’s always makes me think of collecting Kellogg’s.
1978 Kelloggs Dave Winfield
Like I said, it doesn’t take much to get me to think of cards.  I keep going back and forth on my Kellogg’s strategy. Buy up any cheap cards I find? Focus on a particular set? Both? So many decisions to make, so many decisions…

One thought on “Stuff That Made Me Think Of Cards

  1. Great post. Outside of watching sports and listening to sports radio, the one thing that gets me to think about cards is listening to music on the radio. I play this stupid game where I try to match a card with the song.

Leave a Reply

