2015 TSR: Busting An Exclusive “Online Only” Wax Pack

I know, I know, it’s a custom set, how could it be anything but “online only”????

…Just work with me here.

But before I get into the pack, I’ve got a trivia question for you, especially you Orioles fans out there:  Which two players had the most triples for the 2014 Orioles?

I’ll give you a hint;  it’s nobody obvious (as in it wasn’t Adam Jones, Nick Markakis or Nelson Cruz).

OK, on with the pack!

2015 TSR Series 1 Wrapper

I’ll start off with Kris Bryant because this past week’s been all about Kris Bryant.
2015 TSR #6 - Kris Bryant
Honestly, I don’t have anything to say about Kris Bryant that hasn’t been said better by others. Of course, just as I’m publishing this card the Cubbies are going through it again with Addison Russell. Say what you want about Kris Bryant, there’s no “W. Kris Street” outside of Wrigley Field.

There was a recent article in a New York newspaper that involved the wailing and gnashing of teeth over the fact that the Yankees traded pitcher Shane Greene….
2015 TSR #22 - Shane Green
… and essentially got shortstop Didi Gregorius in return. Greene looks like a Cy Young contender for the Tigers and didn’t give up his first earned run until this past Sunday. As I write this, he’s 3-0 with a 0.39 ERA. Yes, Zero-point-three-nine. Meanwhile, Didi has had his struggles in the Bronx. I feel bad for Didi having to deal with the impatience of the New York fanbase, but I have to admit, I love it when Yankee fans become apoplectic over their team’s struggles.

I mentioned before that this was an “online only” pack, and this next card is a parallel exclusive to those packs… It’s the “Mets Prospects” card, but it’s a super-shortprinted parallel.

What kind of parallel is it?

Why, it’s an “Autocorrect” parallel !!!
2015 TSR #23 - Mets Prospects Autocorrect

Kevin Placekick — errrr, I mean Plawecki — was recently called up to take Travis d’Arnaud’s place, and there are some who say he has a higher ceiling than d’Arnaud.  He certainly handled himself well in his debut, where he had two hits and scored two runs.

Steven Matz is a Long Islander — Ward Melville High School! Saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalute! — and is similar to Plawecki in that there are those who like his potential better than some of his more-hyped teammates.

Both players are considered to be among the Top 100 prospects in all of baseball.

OK, here’s the answer to my trivia question: The 2014 Orioles with the most triples were David Lough and Alejandro De Aza with three each.
2015 TSR #25 - Alejandro De Aza
What’s notable about De Aza is that he got 3 triples in just 20 games, as he was acquired from the White Sox on August 30th.

Speaking of triples, Royals rookie Paolo Orlando currently has 5 triples in just 9 games played. Not only that, but his first three Major League hits were triples. How crazy is that?
2015 TSR #26 - Paulo Orlando
…And he’s BRAZILIAN!  How often do you get to say that about a Major Leaguer? There’s Paulo Orlando, Yan Gomes…

…and…

…and…

[Pause while Joe goes to baseball-reference.com]

…And Andre Rienzo! And that’s IT!

I wonder how many fans try to heckle Gomes or Orlando in Spanish. Being Brazilian, I would presume that they speak Portuguese.  Hmm, Portuguese…  Do you suppose these guys carry any extra cachet with Ana Lu?

I just realized that I forgot to include the “Notable Newbies” logo on Orlando’s card… Eh, he’s a 29-year-old rookie, I’ll just write it off as an editorial decision that he wasn’t completely Notable.

…or maybe a VARIATION! OOOOOOH! Quick, go list it on eBay!

Finally, I’ll wrap things up with a card from the Managers And Coaches insert set…
2015 TSR MC-2 - Mike Redmond
With all the noise coming out of Miami, I figured I should feature Mike Redmond while I can. I have to say that, as a Mets fan, it’s comforting to know that there’s at least one MLB team owner who’s a bigger schmuck than anyone in the Mets ownership.

3 thoughts on “2015 TSR: Busting An Exclusive “Online Only” Wax Pack

  1. ONCE AGAIN, TREMENDOUS CARD DESIGN, SO ONE HOPES THE POWERS THAT BE AT TOPPS JUST MIGHT BE TUNING IN, ALTHOUGH PROBABLY NOT, BUT WE CAN ALL HOPE SOMEBODY THERE ACTUALLY ATTENDED ART AND DESIGN SCHOOL.

Leave a Reply

