Four Cool 1971’s, Four Random Comments

I’ve got four somewhat-recently-acquired 1971 Topps baseball cards;  I’ve got four comments.  Neither has anything to do with the other.
1971 Topps Dal Maxvill

Every time someone talks about ways to increase offense in baseball, the one point they bring up is that “It’s time to bring the DH to the National League!”

I find that argument to be similar to this one:  “I don’t have a girlfriend.   My friend Skippy doesn’t have a girlfriend.  Girls like hot cars.  Skippy has a Corvette.  I need a Corvette.”

I prefer baseball without the DH, but I’ve become resigned to the idea that it’s just a matter of time before the DH is universal… That doesn’t mean I won’t point out weak, agenda-filled rationalizations when I see them.

1971 Topps Vada Pinson

I’m not a fan of Country music, but I kinda like Johnny Cash.  I would like to say that the fake crowd noise on “Johnny Cash Live At Folsom Prison” is really annoying.

1971 Topps Cesar Geronimo

There’s one line in the Beach Boys song “California Girls” that I never understood… Not until recently when I was listening to it through headphones and I had an epiphany.  The line is:  “I dig a French bikini on Hawaiian Island dolls by a palm tree in the sand”.  David Lee Roth clearly never knew what the line was either, because on his version he’s singing gibberish between “bikini” and “by a palm tree”.

1971 Topps Chris Short

Doesn’t it seem like Jack Black and Jack White should collaborate on a project?

3 thoughts on “Four Cool 1971’s, Four Random Comments

Leave a Reply

