Ya Get Whatcha Get: I Was Supposedly Saving You From Something Or Another

This post was originally started over a month ago and the subject line was “Saving My Readers From A Tortured Analogy”.  One month later, I don’t remember what the tortured analogy was… I guess I saved myself in the process.

Whatever. On with the cardboard!

Horace Guy “Dooley” Womack achieved a not insignificant amount of fame by being traded for Jim Bouton during the season covered in Bouton’s book “Ball Four”. Bouton wrote “I’d hate to think that at this stage of my career I was being traded even-up for Dooley Womack”.
1968 Topps Dooley Womack
Bouton was no doubt relieved to find out that the Pilots also got minor leaguer Roric Harrison in the deal… Harrison would later pitch for the O’s, Braves Indians and Twins.

The above card is the third in my Dooley Womack PC; unfortunately his rookie card is a high-number he shares with Bobby Murcer, so I don’t think the “return on investment” is there for me.

Jim Hardin had a career year in 1968, going 18-13 with a 2.51 ERA. It was his only season with double-digit wins or losses.
1969 Topps Jim Hardin
Hardin had just 24 hits in 268 plate appearances, but he did some damage when he made contact… His 24 hits included a double, three triples, three homers and 17 RBI. He hit a walk-off homer in relief on May 10th, 1969.

Tom Seaver had 12 career homers, half of them coming with the Mets. If he hit any walk-off homers, I couldn’t find any reference to it.
1975 Hostess Tom Seaver

I think I first saw this next card over on the Dime Boxes blog… it’s the only baseball card to feature Goose Gossage in an honest-to-God Pirates uniform (instead of being airbrushed).
1978 Kelloggs Rich Gossage

2 thoughts on “Ya Get Whatcha Get: I Was Supposedly Saving You From Something Or Another

  1. Dooley Womack has to be one of the best baseball names ever.

    And you know I love that Gossage. Something about the sight of him in those banana yellow Pirates jerseys is fascinating.

Leave a Reply

