PWE From An Alternate Universe: A Couple Of Alt-1974’s

It’s been nearly a year since I’d last mentioned it, but there’s an inter-dimensional rift in my attic and some small objects have fallen through it from an alternate universe into ours.  It’s not as uncommon as one would think, many people have them in their houses but instead of recognizing them for what they are, they just find random objects in a closet or basement and wonder “Where the heck did this come from?”

If someone finds a ball point pen or a garlic press from another universe, it’s unusual origins aren’t often noticeable.  When it comes to baseball cards, however, sometimes the differences come out and slap you in the face.  Here’s an example I posted a couple of years ago:
1975 Alt U Gorman Thomas

In recent months I’ve been able to get in touch with my own counterpart from that universe, and we’ve started trading.  Here’s a self-portrait that “Alt-U Joe” sent me…
Alt-U Joe
Since the rift between us is particularly small, we’ve only been able to exchange a few cards at a time, so a PWE is the norm with our trades.

Alt-U Joe knows I love 1974 Topps, so he sent me a couple of cards from his universe’s version.

First off is the Milwaukee Braves’ Gary Gentry.
1974 Topps Alternate Universe Gary Gentry
As a Mets fan, I’m always interested in cards which feature anybody from the 1969 Miracle Mets… but I wasn’t expecting Gentry to have played for the Milwaukee Braves. I would think that their Atlanta would’ve gotten their own team at some point, but I don’t know if it was a different relocation or an expansion team or what. So much to learn about that other universe.

The other card I got was a Traded card of Ron Santo… In both universes, back in late 1973, the Cubs worked out a deal to send their All-Star 3rd baseman to the Angels.  In this universe Santo blocked the deal and he was sent to the White Sox instead.  Over in the alternate universe, Santo either didn’t or wasn’t able to block the deal .  Either way…
1974 Topps Alternate Universe Ron Santo
…And since I’m sure that many of you aren’t familiar with Santo to the Angels, here are the details on the back of the card.
1974 Topps Alternate Universe Ron Santo back

That’s all I’ve got for this time. The inter-dimensional rift is small and unstable, so I don’t know when I’ll be able to get more cards from Alt-U Joe, but when I do you can be sure that I’ll share them with you!

3 thoughts on “PWE From An Alternate Universe: A Couple Of Alt-1974’s

  1. Santo as an Angel does indeed seem like something that would come from an alternate universe…but, then again, so does Santo with the White Sox.

  2. lol, I love this post! Classic stuff. Great cards! I think you draw better than alt-you. Now I want a ’74 alt-uni Milwaukee Braves cap! I’ve gotta have a rift somewhere around the house.

    *goes looking for inter-dimensional rift

  3. There was also a story early in his career that Santo was almost traded to the LA Dodgers. I forget the details. Santo did relectantly approve the deal with the Sox, then greatly regretted it after they forced him to become a second baseman. WTF!

Leave a Reply

