It’s Been A Long Time Coming…

I pulled this card out of a pack of 2015 Heritage, and it bothered me quite a lot.
2015 Topps Heritage Garces Cordier
Nothing with the card itself, it was just that something about Erik Cordier seemed familiar, but I didn’t know why. Frankly, it was bugging the crap out of me.

I thought maybe I saw him pitch in the minors, but I looked up his minor league career record — AZL Royals, Idaho Falls, Burlington, GCL Braves, Rome, Myrtle Beach, Mississippi, Gwinnett, Indianapolis, Fresno, San Jose, Sacramento — and it was just a long list of “Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope.”

Then I looked up his cards on COMC, saw his 2005 rookie card…
2005 Topps Erik Cordier
…and said “OH! It’s THAT guy!”

I keep a set of binders organized by 40-man rosters (as well as some “minor league depth” for each team), so I’d seen the 2005 Topps Cordier floating around those binders for years.

But that’s not why I’m telling you about Cordier.

Here are the nationally-issued cards which came between the two I’d featured above:

 

 

 

That, right, none.  No Bowman, other than his other 2005 rookie card.  No TRISTAR Prospects Plus.  No Just Minors.  No Upper Deck Future Stars.  No Pro Debut.  No Razor.  No Heritage Minor Leagues.  No Elite Extra Excellent Exemplary Extraordinary Elite Edition.

Nada. Nichts. Bugger all.

…Which is pretty noteworthy given that Cordier was a 2nd-round draft pick (picked ahead of Hunter Pence, Dustin Pedroia and Kurt Suzuki) who can hit triple-digits on the radar.  I guess it says a lot about the state of “prospecting” that it’s noteworthy when a guy makes it to the Majors without being in a dozen sets along the way.

A knee injury and Tommy John surgery caused delays in his early career.  Two missed seasons and four organizations later, he got a September call-up to the Giants last year.  He made 7 appearances, all in relief.

Since Cordier is making up for lost time, cardboard-wise, I’ll give him a virtual addition to his player collection.
2015 TSR #153 - Erik Cordier

4 thoughts on “It’s Been A Long Time Coming…

    • I was planning another post with customs during the coming week, and I’ll do what I can to include a Zobrist. It was labor-intensive up front, but now it all depends on how long it takes to find a good photo.

Leave a Reply

