Why Even Have A Blog If I Can’t Occasionally Voice An Uninformed Theory?

I confess;  Earlier this year, if you’d asked me what I thought of Sepp Blatter, I would’ve guessed that you were starting a conversation about either a South African dish or something one should discuss with their doctor or pharmacist.

But as I’ve found out lately, Mr. Blatter is the president of FIFA, the international governing body of soccer… And just before an election that would potentially get Blatter another term in office, a number of high-ranking FIFA officials were arrested in a corruption scandal.  In light of this, Blatter defiantly refused to step down, and then won an election against the one other candidate, Prince Ali Bin al-Hussein of Jordan.

Days later, Blatter announced that he would be resigning and that FIFA would need “profound restructuring”.  Like everyone else, I was surprised by this sudden turnaround… Was he confronted with overwhelming evidence that his days were numbered?  Had he been captured on video holding a briefcase containing millions of Euros while saying “Thank you for this lovely illegal bribe, I shall put it to some devious use”?

Or…

(And this is where my uniformed, pulled-out-of-my-you-know-what theory comes in)

Or had Blatter seen the writing on the wall before the election happened, but wanted to get through the election solely to prevent his lone rival, Prince Ali, from taking office?  Perhaps this is all an involved scheme to keep the Jordanian out of the picture.

Huh?  Huh?  What do you think?  Feel free to shoot my theory full of holes, but I reserve the right to gloat if, by some odd happenstance, I prove to be right.

As long as I’m talking about The Beautiful Game, as it is called by people who are not me, I’ll share a recent acquisition for my growing soccer collection (over 10 cards now!).

2007 Upper Deck MLS Chris Armas

I’ve been a fan of Chris Armas since the 1990’s, when I still lived on Long Island and he played for the Long Island Rough Riders in those pre-MLS days when the Rough Riders were one of the preeminent professional teams in this country. These days I still enjoy the occasional soccer match, but I’m not a fan of any given team… and I’m thankful I’m not an MLS fan in metro New York where I would have to chose between a team named for an energy drink and a team part-owned by the Yankees.

2 thoughts on “Why Even Have A Blog If I Can’t Occasionally Voice An Uninformed Theory?

  1. “….Huh? Huh? What do you think? ….” I think that if it wasn’t for UNinformed opinions I wouldn’t usually have any opinion at all.

  2. I’ve been following this story casually as well, for some reason it really interests me. By the way, when you get a chance drop me an email at shanediaz82 at yahoo dot com. Got a couple cards I think you’d appreciate that I’d love to send your way in a PWE…

Leave a Reply

