Ya Get Whatcha Get: 1966 Batman And 1954 World On Wheels

I’m so worn out today that I don’t have many words inside me… So I’ll share some recent non-sport acquisitions that largely speak for themselves.

The first two come from the 1966 Topps Batman “Black Bat” series.
1966 Topps Batman Black Bat To The batcave
I can imagine that this card confused more than a few kids in the 1960’s. “What the – where are the Bat Poles?”

This next one isn’t the most visually exciting, but it’s part of the “Batman vs. The Joker” subset that I’m close to finishing.
1966 Topps Batman Black Bat Chloroform Victim

The other two cards are from the 1954 World On Wheels set, which I’ve been picking up when I find cheap, well-loved examples. I didn’t realize it until after I’d bought these two, but they have both been trimmed… Not by an unscrupulous person looking to get sharp corners, but by a kid trying to get these cards into standard size. Oh, well… They both go into the “I’ll upgrade these… Maybe… someday…” list.

This first one is the Pegaso, which is Spanish for “Pegasus”.
1954 Topps World On Wheels Pegaso

I love the writeup on the back:  “…can go more than twenty-five miles on a single gallon of gasoline…”   Yep it was a different time then.
1954 Topps World On Wheels Pegaso back

It also wasn’t much on safety features…. it can go greater than 170 MPH, but it has no bumpers, no roof, no roll bars.  Don’t want to wreck while driving this sucker.

The next one is a one-off prototype car from 1952 that is actually called the “SOCEMA-Gregoire”, and was one of the first cars built with a turbine engine.

1954 Topps World On Wheels Cemo Turbo
1954 Topps World On Wheels Cemo Turbo back

Leave a Reply

