2015 TSR: A Hot Pack Loaded With Prospects!

Before I get to the prospects, you’re going to have to listen to my brief tale of Fantasy Baseball woe…  No, really, the two are related.  And yes, I realize you don’t give a flying Pop-Tart about my Fantasy team.  Just bear with me.

This year’s draft can be summarized by three words:  Disappointing, Disabled, Disastrous.  Among the players I’d drafted are Robinson Cano, Yasiel Puig, Hisashi Iwakuma, David Wright, Alex Cobb, Devin Mesoraco, Hyun-jin Ryu and Rougned Odor.  With all those busts, it’s no wonder I’m in last place.

So what do you do when you’re in last place?  Load up on prospects!

In the interest of boosting the general mojo of my new acquisitions, I’ve made customs of all of them and will tout their accomplishments.

Entering this season, Baseball America had Joey Gallo ranked as the #6 prospect in all of baseball.  Gallo may only be batting .224 in his 16 games, but he’s got 5 homers, 10 runs and 10 RBI.
2015 TSR #137 - Joey Gallo
Gallo was a Little League teammate of Bryce Harper and recently tweeted a photo of the two of them back in the day.

Carlos Correa was the first overall pick of the 2012 draft and is the #4 overall prospect.  In 11 games his batting .319 with 3 homers, 7 runs, 7 RBI and 4 stolen bases.
2015 TSR #139 - Carlos Correa
Three of those stolen bases came in one game against the Rockies, making Correa the second-youngest player to steal three in a game (Rickey Henderson was the youngest, naturally).

Lance McCullers is the son of former reliever Lance McCullers.  I think that McCullers The Younger is a “Junior”, but he doesn’t seem to go by it so I won’t force it on him.  In his 7 starts he’s got 46 K’s and just 13 walks, a 1.017 WHIP and a 2.45 ERA.
2015 TSR #140 - Lance McCullers
His first start for my team was also his second consecutive start against the Mariners, and the M’s seemed to have his number the second time around:  4.1 innings, 6 hits, 3 earned runs.  Fingers crossed that this is just an aberration.

OK, this one is cheating a little bit, Joc Pederson wasn’t really part of my Fantasy Fire Sale, I’ve had him on my team for a few weeks…
2015 TSR #138 - Joc Pederson
…But he’s still on my team, which is more than I can say for many of my other acquisitions.  He’s the #8 overall prospect, and in 67 games he has 10 doubles, a triple, 17 homers, 37 runs and 33 RBI.

Dodger fans most likely knew this already, but I didn’t:  Joc is the son of Stu Pederson, who had a cup of coffee with the 1985 Dodgers.

Stu is featured on one of my favorite all-time minor league cards:
1991 Line Drive Pre-Rookie Stu Pederson

I’ve also picked up a couple of guys who are young and talented, but not uber-prospects.

Carlos Martinez made his debut in 2013, but he’s broken out this season, going 7-3, 2.80 with 85 K’s.
2015 TSR #153 - Carlos Martinez
Martinez had made it as high as #27 (2011) on the Baseball America Top 100 list, and he’s the third Carlos Martinez to have played in the Majors.

And when your team is in last and desperately in need of a points infusion, what’s to be done? Well, as British cartoon character Danger Mouse once said, “There’s only one thing for it… PANIC!!!!”
2015 TSR #152 - Joe Panik
Panik was a 1st round pick in 2011 and is batting .305 with 16 doubles and 35 runs scored.

OK, enough of the young studs, what about the inserts?  What’s a pack without inserts?

I’m not a complete slave to 1970’s baseball fashion, but I love the 1970’s Red Sox cap and socks that Xander Bogaerts is wearing here.
2015 TSR TB-4 - Xander Bogaerts
The front office in Boston could do a lot worse than to add those to the current uni set. The pullover jersey and the pants with a Sansabelt waistband I could live without.

…And speaking of Throwbacks, you have to be a throwback yourself to get the reference in this first Pointless Pairings insert of 2015:
2015 TSR PP-1 Rosscup Crashcup

You’re welcome, Hackenbush!

5 thoughts on “2015 TSR: A Hot Pack Loaded With Prospects!

  1. Joe, here’s an idea for an article or two. To us Topps Baseball card collectors, there are numerous sacred Rookie cards from the 60’s that help define our collections. Why not challenge your readers with questions like this: 1966 Topps Rookie card #254 features future Hall of Famer Ferguson Jenkins as a Phillies rookie. Who is the OTHER rookie pictured on this highly collectible card? (Answer: Bill Sorrells, OF). Who is the OTHER rookie pictured on HOFer Steve Carlton’s 1965 #477 Rookie card? (Answer: Fritz Ackley, P). Anyway, thought it might make a fun column idea for you sometime, as there are many excellent rookie cards of star players from the 60’s and 70’s and 80’s (some being HOFers) who share their card with obscure players.

    • That is a cool idea… The main problem I have is that I prefer to feature cards I own, and I probably don’t have a lot of those key cards (being that I’m cheap – uhh, ehrrr – I mean, on a budget!). I’ll definitely try to figure out if I can make it work, though!

    • Wow, he *is* having a nice season. I’ll tell you what… I’m not sure I need an outfielder just yet, but I’ve added Burns to my watch list and if I do pick him up for my team, I will absolutely make a custom for him.

      • Holy cow… I just noticed that Burns is 5’9″, 180 lbs. I love the (relatively) little guys! I hereby declare that his custom is no longer contingent on my picking him up in Fantasy Baseball!

Leave a Reply

