Think Too Much

Sometimes I just work too hard at this stuff…. Ranking, researching, analysis, comparisons, themes…

So I’m just going to throw a bunch of cards at you, generally ones I’ve acquired within the past 9 months or so, and toss in a few comments…. and there’s a song at the end.

Hope you like ’em.

Here’s the 2014 Pro Debut card of the Mets’ more-often-than-not-these-days starting catcher, Kevin Plawecki. There’s been talk that perhaps he, and not Travis d’Arnaud, is the Mets catcher of the future. I guess the brass is getting a good look at him, anyway.
2014 Topps Pro Debut Kevin Plawecki
For what it’s worth, 2015 will be the last year for the Savannah Sand Gnats… The team will be moving to Columbia, SC for 2016 so go out and buy all your Gnat merchandise while you still can!

I got this 1996 UD Collector’s Choice card in a repack and kept it because I just like it…
1996 UD Collector's Choice Andy Benes
Back in 1996, Collector’s Choice did it’s part in restoring my faith in card manufacturers. In 1995, coming off of a labor dispute, baseball manufacturers pulled out all the stops in the name of “LOOK AT ME! LOOK AT ME!” 1996 CC was a breath of fresh air, just a nice, simply designed set with decent photography.

Bob Tillman grabs a bat or two.
1971 Topps Bob Tillman
The world would be a better place if more baseball card photo sessions started with “Hey, Bob, go in the dugout and grab a bat”.

I really need to keep track of instances where I see a card on a blog that I want to get, because once I get those cards and post them, I want to thank the person who made me aware of it, but by then it’s long forgotten.

So whoever posted this Cal Ripken card – the cartoon on the back is priceless! – Thank you very much.
1994 Stadium Club Dugout Dirt Cal Ripken back

The card has a front as well, but it’s just another card of Cal (1994 Stadium Club Dugout Dirt insert, if you’re keeping score at home).
1994 Stadium Club Dugout Dirt Cal Ripken

A cool card from 1978/79 Topps Hockey.
1978-79 Topps Hockey Dave Forbes
Is the guy on the ice a Cleveland Baron? I think so, but I’m not sure.

1961 Topps Sports Cars. Ten cards in (out of 66) and I still freakin’ love this set.
1961 Topps Sports Cars Jaguar XK-150

I got this Jeff Francouer from the 2012 Sega CARD-GEN set, not so much because of Frenchy, mainly because I felt like I should own at least one of these cards.
2012 Sega CARD-GEN Jeff Francouer
The back is just slightly more cryptic than your typical Japanese baseball card.
2012 Sega CARD-GEN Jeff Francouer back

This is a card I’d shared 2 years ago, but I’m sharing it again because that post is getting a couple of hits in the wake of the Phillies managerial situation.
1977 OPC Pete Mackanin
This is a 1977 O-Pee-Chee card, by the way. The 1977 Topps card used a different photo (and I don’t have a readily-available scan).

Paul Simon’s “Hearts And Bones” album didn’t sell all that well, but it’s been a favorite of mine for many years… and I can identify with the song “Think Too Much”.

8 thoughts on “Think Too Much

  1. I’m not sure how I missed the cartoon backs on those Dugout Dirt cards. I bet I have a full set (or at least nearly a full set) in storage, too. Oh well, it’s added to my want list now too!

    (And like you, I should probably make a note that I saw the card here so I can give credit later whenever I do finish the set…)

  2. Hearts and Bones is a favorite of mine as well. Maybe not his best but really good.

    A ‘guys at the bat rack’ collection would be fun to pursue. I’d start with the ’61 Covington. But I have too much going on at the moment.

  3. Hearts and Bones has a sort of despressing feel to it both in the music and lyrics. Not that it’s not good at the same time. I’ve had the LP since it was released.

  4. YOU ARE CORRECT – THAT IS DEFENSEMAN GREG SMITH, WEARING # 5, WITH THE CLEVELAND BARONS IN 1976-1977 …

    THE BARONS ONY PLAYED TWO SEASONS IN THE NHL, 1976-1977 AND 1977-1978, AND LIKE MOST BASEBALL CARDS THE HOCKEY PHOTOS WERE ALL FROM PREVIOUS SEASONS IN MOST TOPPS AND O-PEE-CHEE ISSUES.

  5. WITH RESPECT TO THE BOB TILLMAN CARD, MANY PLAYERS BACK IN THE DAYS OF OUR YOUTH WOULD COME OUT TO THE ONDECK CIRCLE SWINGING AS MANY BATS AS THEY COULD HOLD, USUALLY 3 OR 4, ONE OF WHICH WAS THEIR GAMER AND THEN AS THEY APPROACHED THE PLATE WITH THAT LUMBER THE BATBOY WOULD RUN THE EXTRAS BACK TO THE RACK AS THE NEXT BATTER CAME OUT …

    THERE ARE SOME FAMOUS PHOTOS OF TOP STARS HOLDING AS MANY AS 5 BATS, ONE OF WHOM WAS TED KLUSZEWSKI WHO HAD MASSIVE HANDS, ALONG WITH FRANK HOWARD …

    AROUND THAT TIME, IN THE LATE 1960s INTO THE EARLY 1970s, THEY BEGAN ADDING HEAVY RUBBER ‘ DONUTS ‘ ON BATS FOR WEIGHT IN SWINGING IN ONDECK AREA AND THE EXTRA BATS IDEA DRIFTED AWAY …

    IN MORE RECENT YEARS SOME SLUGGERS HAVE POSED WITH EXTRA BATS FOR EFFECT IN PUBLICITY SHOTS BUT YOU WOULD SELDOM FIND THIS ON BASEBALL CARDS ANY LONGER, BEING ANOTHER GREAT BASEBALL TRADITION WHICH HAS DISAPPEARED.

  6. I’ve probably said this before in the comments of your blog but those Topps Sports Cars cards are fantastic!

  7. By 1996, I was targeting higher end stuff… so Collector’s Choice sort of slipped through the cracks. Might need to find a box of it. That Benes is sweet.

Leave a Reply

