Blog Bat-Around: My Wacky Regret

This post is part of a “Bat Around” question posed by the esteemed proprietor of the Garvey Cey Russell Lopes blog:

What cards have you owned that you regret are no longer in your collection?

I have to admit, I didn’t think I’d be taking part in this because I couldn’t think of any cards that really were worth writing about. I haven’t done a whole lot of trading or selling, and most of it has been either duplicates or card I had no interest in keeping.

Just as I was about to punt, I thought of another angle on the subject, and then most of this post formed in my head before I had a chance to attempt to write it all down…

Back when I was a kid in the mid 1970’s, there were a lot of different toys and games and collectibles to occupy the youth of America, but there was one thing that united everybody in my school (and many other schools)… It seemed like every kid, boys and girls alike, spent some of their allowances on Topps Wacky Packages stickers, commonly known as “Wacky Packs”.
1979 Topps Wacky Packages Gyppy Pop

For those who aren’t familiar with Wacky Packs, they were stickers that featured parodies of common products of the day… but they weren’t gentle little parodies, they were like Mad Magazine in a pack…. funny, subversive and very nicely illustrated by professional artists.
1970's Topps Wacky Packages_0004

But they were stickers… and if you’re a kid, what do you do with stickers? You stick them on things.  (Joe from 1975 adds “That’s what stickers are for.  Duh.”)

Unlike many of the sticker sets that would follow in later years, there was no such thing as a Wacky Packages album, so we were left to stick them wherever we saw fit.
1970's Topps Wacky Packages_0001
Like many kids, my preferred target for my Wacky Packs was the looseleaf binder I used for school. I eventually had the entire binder, front and back, inside and outside, covered with Wacky Packs. That binder eventually got too beat-up to use, but I hung on to it because, well, it had all my Wacky Packs on it. When it started to fall apart, I kept the two main pieces and I still have them…. somewhere.
1970's Topps Wacky Packages_0003

With the exception of the “Gyppy Pop” which I got late last year, the Wacky Packs I’m sharing here are “doubles” I had… No point in sticking them on my binder when I’ve already got the same one on there, right?

…But if I’d only saved my Wacky Packs like I’d saved all of my baseball and football and hockey cards… or even like I’d hung on to my small assortment of “Welcome Back, Kotter” cards… I’d have a really nice collection enshrined in 9-pocket pages, rather than a pair of battered pieces of a looseleaf binder, lost in a box that’s buried in a closet.


Before I close this out, I’d like to thank GCRL for reviving the Bat-around concept. Back several years ago when bat-arounds were more common, I would always enjoy reading them and I’d think “Man, if I had a blog, I could have a lot of fun with these”…. and because of the way things go, I started my blog too late to participate in one…

…until now. Thank you!

11 thoughts on “Blog Bat-Around: My Wacky Regret

  1. You can always buy some lol. Decent prices on eBay if you shop around.

    Loved Wacky’s too. Favorites were Neveready, LipTorn, Cheapios and Beanball along with many others from the early series. Some of my best memories of grade school were collected and trading Wacky’s. I have a folder somewhere covered with them too.

    • I know I had Beanball, just because the image popped in my head as soon as I read the word. :-)

      Since I wrote this last night, I’ve been giving some serious thought to tracking down the ones I had… and to be honest, I don’t know how much I care if they’re the originals or the “Flashback” stickers that Topps has been issuing… as long as it’s the same artwork.

      • I’ve recently bought about fifty or so on eBay. The first series ones can be kinda pricey but the others are in the 25-50 cent range when buying a lot of 10-20.

        It’s been fun looking at these literally forty years later. Lots of deep memories coming out.

        Also boys at that age are like Piranas. I can remember a friends dad work for a local oil distributor and would bring in STP stickers. He’d come in with 20 and go home with one or two. Same happened with baseball cards and wacky packages. All fun things to remember and think about.

  2. I love Wacky Packages. I picked up a small binder filled with some newer ones at the flea market a while back. I ended up pulling out some of the cooler ones, sleeving them, and flipping them for a quarter each. It took awhile, but a lady came buy and bought the whole lot from me for five bucks. I think I threw in the binder as a bonus. If not, it’s probably sitting in my flea market dollar stack waiting for a potential buyer.

  3. OH wow this reminds me of my Wacky Packages Regret (I need to add this to my “in progress” post on this subject. I will expand on this story along with my other stories) I did the notebook/binder sticking thing also. It was around spring? 1974 and it was Series 5 or maybe 7 a school friend/chum of mine had purchased a full box of Wacky Packages and had a duplicate set for sale, back then a box of those things cranked out 2 or 3 full sets. NO inserts or dang parallels to worry about. I think he got the box for $20 and I forget how much he had sold me the set ($5 or $10 maybe?) Well the rest of the class, especially the boys soon found out I had all these Wacky Packages and I was persuaded to sell some of them to the others for like a quarter or two since I really didn’t want to sell them. I may have even sold some of the puzzle piece checklists as well, but that is beside the point. I think I managed to bring home maybe 5 of the remaining stickers of the 32 or 33 sticker set.

  4. Pingback: Blog Bat Around: Cards That I Used To Own | Jason's Custom Trading Cards

  5. Pingback: STWTW: I Found My Wacky Packages, Part 1 | The Shlabotnik Report

  6. Pingback: Blog Bat-Around: The Cards I Used To Own – Trading Card Wizard

Leave a Reply

