An Odd Little Set Of 7-Eleven Cards

Several months back I bought a box full of cards which had apparently spent the last 20 years gathering a lovely musty smell in someone’s basement… or basements, because the labeling on the box made it clear that the previous owner had moved at least once.

I’m still working through some of those cards, and I recently came across something interesting from 7-Eleven.

What I found isn’t lenticular Slurpee discs that you’ve probably seen before…
1984 Slurpee John Denny

…or even Slurpee cups.  This isn’t a set sponsored by 7-Eleven, it’s a set featuring the convenience store chain.

I’ll go ahead and throw all the images at you, then I’ll be back with some comments, musings and the like.

There’s a card featuring the exterior of a 7-Eleven store…
7-ELEVEN set_0001

A card featuring a heartwarming scene where a small child makes a donation while mom and the helpful 7-Eleven clerk look on…
7-ELEVEN set_0002
“I was feeling good! I even dropped a sand dollar in the box for Jerry’s Squids…. for the halibut.”

Fresh coffee!
7-ELEVEN set_0003

Clean, well-lit stores!
7-ELEVEN set_0004

All of these cards have identical backs which tout the benefits of working for the 7-Eleven team.
7-ELEVEN set_0005

When I first ran across these cards, a classically-trained British actor in my head proclaimed “What a perfectly odd little set!”  (The accent is important in conveying the bemusement I felt.)

And I use the term “set” loosely, because I have no clue whether this is a full set. The facts are few, the conjecture could fill a room.

These cards came from a box that contained mid-1990’s cards, which would seem to indicate that these cards are also from the mid-1990’s… but that’s a pretty weak evidence.

I have these four distinct, unnumbered cards. That doesn’t mean there aren’t more. They were found together within a box filled with numerous junk wax sets and inserts, and there were no duplicates. That would seem to indicate (that phrase again) that the cards came to the owner all at once.

But as to how the cards were distributed, I can only guess. Were they inserts within packs? Were they given out with card purchases? Sitting on the counter? Free if you provided a SASE?  Available individually or as a set?

Enough of my conjecture. Has anybody seen these before?  I’m pretty curious about these (as if you couldn’t tell).

8 thoughts on “An Odd Little Set Of 7-Eleven Cards

  1. That’s Pretty Cool. The Disc Card that you Used for your Post is RHP John Denny from My Hometown of Prescott Arizona, A Little League Star and Star High School Pitcher for the PHS Badgers. Right On. Thanks.

  2. YOU OUGHT TO CONTACT THE COMPANY DIRECTLY AS SOMEONE IN PUBLIC RELATIONS / PROMOTION / MARKETING MIGHT BE ABLE TO SHED SOME LIGHT ON THESE CARDS WHICH I HAVE NEVER SEEN NOR HEARD ANYTHING OF BEFORE NOW …

    ODDLY I HAD SOME GREAT SUCCESS AT SOME LOCATIONS OVER TIME WHERE I OBTAINED ALL THOSE THINGS LIKE THE DISCS AND THE LATER BASEBALL AND BASKETBALL COINS WITH PHOTO INSERTS AFTER THE PROMOTIONS ENDED EVEN IF THERE WERE MUTIPLES OF MANY AND NONE OF OTHERS ALLOWING FOR PLENTY OF TRADING AND SELLING.

Leave a Reply

