2015 Eastern League Top Prospects Set

As “compensation” for my little side trip into Custom Card land yesterday, I’m going to share a few cards from a set a friend got for me…. it’s a “team set” containing the best prospects in the Double-A Eastern League this year.

The set consists of 30 players plus a header/checklist card.  Each of the league’s 12 teams are represented by at least two players. The set was done by Grandstand, and they’ve done a nice job with it. 

We’ll start off with Brandon Nimmo, the Mets’ first round choice in 2011.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Brandon Nimmo
Here’s the back… Colorful and appealing, with logos and basic information.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Brandon Nimmo back

Dwight Smith Jr. is the son of the former Cub outfielder. Somewhat unusual for a Jr./Sr. situation: Neither one goes by his first name. They’re both named John Dwight Smith.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Dwight Smith Jr
Baseball America ranked Smith as the Blue Jays’ #14 prospect coming into this season.

Dylan Bundy had Tommy John surgery two years ago, and recently was shut down due to injury.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Dylan Bundy

Gavin Cecchini is another Mets first round pick, this time from 2012.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Gavin Cecchini

Joe Ross got called up to the Nationals earlier this season, went 2-1 and is currently pitching for AAA Syracuse.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Joe Ross
He’s the younger brother of Padres’ pitcher Tyson Ross.

Josh Bell is not the Josh Bell that used to be an Orioles prospect. This is a different Josh Bell, and I included the card because I like the photo.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Josh Bell
Bell is the Pirates’ #4 prospect (again , according to Baseball America).

Mike Yastrzemski is indeed the grandson of Yaz.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Mike Yastrzemski
I happened to see him play earlier this year, and I liked what I saw. Please keep in mind that I am the same guy who, back in the early 1990’s, was convinced that Terry McGriff would become an All-Star catcher.

Nationals prospect Pedro Severino is included in this post because I like the photo.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Pedro Severino
The set also includes Yankees prospect Luis Severino. Although both are from the Dominican Republic, they were born 7 months apart in different towns, so I’m guessing they’re not brothers.

Roman Quinn is a faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaast little dude. I like fast little dudes.  Roman is about my size, but nobody has ever called me a fast little dude… Nor have I given them any reason to.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Roman Quinn
I will be surprised and impressed if anybody gets this reference:  With a name like Roman Quinn, he should be a character in the Matt Fraction / Gabriel Ba / Fabio Moon comic book “Casanova”.

Trevor Story is another card I included because I like it.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Trevor Story
I keep thinking Twins when I see “New Britain”, but the affiliation changed over the offseason and Story is a Rockies’ prospect. Next year I won’t have that problem, because the team will become the Hartford Yard Goats and I won’t be making outdated associations.

Aaron Nola is a pitcher that Phillies fans are anxiously awaiting. I’ve heard very good things about him. He’s currently with AAA Lehigh Valley.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Aaron Nola

Here’s the checklist for the set. If anybody wants to see any more of these cards, just ask and I’ll do another post.
2015 Grandstand EL Top Prospects Checklist

4 thoughts on “2015 Eastern League Top Prospects Set

  1. I was lucky enough to work for the 1984 Buffalo Bisons (Eastern League).Brings back good memories especially when we went to Albany, NY to see the All Star game.It is fun to see how a player progresses in quest to make the show.

Leave a Reply

