Off-Topic Rant: “And I” Is Not Always Correct

My boss Phil likes to talk himself up, and yesterday I heard Phil jokingly say something like “After blah blah blah, HR was not happy with Nick and I.”

I’ve no doubt that the intended subtext of this was:
1) I am a badass who doesn’t care if HR isn’t happy
2) I am a smart person who knows that “…and I” is always correct and “…and me” is never correct.

Phil is pretty much wrong about both. I didn’t say anything to Phil because… you know. Boss.

…But what I would’ve liked to have pointed out to him is that “and” doesn’t change the pronoun’s role in the sentence. Which pronoun gets used still comes down to who’s doing what to whom.

Fortunately, this is easy to get right. All you have to do is take the other person out of the sentence and see if it still works.

Billy and I saw Jake deGrom at the ballpark.
I saw Jake deGrom at the ballpark.

Jake deGrom signed autographs for Billy and me.
Jake deGrom signed autographs for me.

End of rant. Thank you very much for your time.

4 thoughts on “Off-Topic Rant: “And I” Is Not Always Correct

  1. We need to get rid of the epidemic on the use of “myself”. That line by Phil could just as easily been “with Nick and myself”. Yuck. It seems to particularly come out of the mouths of athletes talking about themselves (or one might say “myselfs”).

Leave a Reply

