Pack Animal: 2006 BBM 1st Version (Japanese Baseball)

Since the National is going on right now, I thought I’d open a pack of cards I bought at the National… three years ago.  With extra-special packs, I tend to get stuck in the trap of saving them for “a special occasion” that never comes.  It’s a damn good thing I’m not a wine connoisseur…

Anyway… I’ve got a pack of 2006 BBM 1st Version…
2006 BBM 1st Version pack front
2006 BBM 1st Version pack back
…and as usual when opening a Japanese pack anything I pull will go into my collection, and if it’s a player I’ve heard of or a cool shot, that’s just icing on the cake.

First card…
2006 BBM 1st Version Masamitsu Suzuki
Masamitsu Suzuki, a rookie with the Hiroshima Carp.  With the exception of a Matt Franco card I bought on COMC, these are my first 2006 BBM cards and the design’s not bad. The cards have a nice gloss to them, front and back.

We flip the baby over and as usual non-Japanese readers don’t get to read “The Rookie Story”, and don’t get to know the answer to “Did You Know”?
2006 BBM 1st Version Masamitsu Suzuki back
Mr. Suzuki has played a total of 6 games in NPB, none since 2013. Moving on…

Ryosuke Hirata of the Chunichi Dragons.
2006 BBM 1st Version Ryosuke Hirata
Hirata is still with the Dragons;  in fact, when I Googled on his name, I found an article about a game-winning three-run homer he hit in the 10th against the Yomiuri Giants in June.

Wataru Nishimura of the Rakuten Golden Eagles
2006 BBM 1st Version Wataru Nishimura
I still can’t get used to the Golden Eagles… I started taking an interest in NPB well before the Orix BlueWave and the Osaka Kintetsu Buffaloes merged and the Golden Eagles were created to keep an even number of teams in the Pacific League.  It surprised me a little to learn that the Golden Eagles have been with us as long as the Washington Nationals.

Nishimura is still with the Eagles, but has very fringe player numbers.

Yuki Mizuno, another rookie… this time with the Yakult Swallows.
2006 BBM 1st Version Yuki Mizuno
I’m having trouble finding info on Yuki Mizuno, but it doesn’t look like he’s played in NPB at all.

Shogo Mori… I knew from the one black sleeve that this was the Fighters before I looked at the logo.
2006 BBM 1st Version Shugo Mori
Another guy who doesn’t seem to have much of a track record.  This really doesn’t seem to be a killer pack.

Atsushi Kizuka of the BayStars
2006 BBM 1st Version Atsushi Kizuka
He appears to be a middle reliever who hasn’t pitched since 2010.

Tomohiro Kuroki, Marines.
2006 BBM 1st Version Tomohiro Kuroki
These are not my favorite uniform in NPB.  Actually a lot of NPB unis are just a bit too far out there for me.

It looks like Kuroki is a coach with the Fighters now.

HEEEEEEEEERE WE GO!

The payoff comes at the very end of the pack… Mr. Daisuke Matsuzaka on a League Leader card during his last year with the Seibu Lions before going to Boston to seek his fame and fortune on this side of the Pacific.
2006 BBM 1st Version Daisuke Matsuzaka SO Leader

At first I was wondering what 22650 at the bottom meant, until I realized it was 226 strikeouts.  Not the greatest card of Dice-K, but I will not kvetch.
2006 BBM 1st Version Daisuke Matsuzaka SO Leader back

…And that’s the pack.  Not exactly a loaded pack, but it’s always fun to open something like this, just to see what cards from Japan look like.

2 thoughts on “Pack Animal: 2006 BBM 1st Version (Japanese Baseball)

  1. Not exactly on topic but in the intro to his new book, Japanese author Haruki Murakami tells the story of suddenly being inspired to become a writer while sitting in the grass (beyond the outfield wall, no bleachers) at a Swallows game back in the 1970’s.

Leave a Reply

