Topps Chrome Cards Which Aren’t Just Shiny Parallels

Not the most interesting post title I’ve come up with in my day, but it works.

With 2015 Topps Chrome coming out this week, I thought I’d share some of the Chrome from past years that I’d picked up recently.

Until recently, I’d regarded Topps Chrome only as the shiny parallel set that it is, and as a result pretty much ignored it… up until this past January, when this card set me off on a mission:
2010 Topps Chrome Ike Davis

I ran across the card in a repack, and realized it had a photo that was different from the corresponding regular Topps card:
2010 Topps Ike Davis

I had no idea that there were any Chrome cards that differed in any significant way from the base set, but I found out that there were a number of cards with different photos and a number of cards that didn’t have a non-shiny counterpart. That lead to a shopping spree in the Chrome aisle of COMC… and I’m going to share a card from each year from 2009 to 2014.

The standard 2009 Koji Uehara card has a posed shot.
2009 Topps Chrome Koji Uehara

This card is particularly interesting for Mets collectors…
2010 Topps Chrome Hisanori Takahashi
Hisanori Takahashi didn’t have a card in any non-shiny version of 2010 Topps. This was the card that really blew my mind; I had no idea that there were players in Chrome who didn’t make it in to Series 1, 2 or Update.

Zach Britton had cards in the base set and a “Rookie Debut” card in Topps Update, but both of those were vertical cards with different (but similar) photos.
2011 Topps Chrome Zach Britton

Jordany Valdespin made it into 2012 Update with a batting pose.
2012 Topps Chrome Jordany Valdespin
This shot is much cooler and has a Giancarlo Stanton cameo.

Just in case you thought all of these cards would be Mets and Orioles…
2013 Topps Chrome RA Dickey
Series 1 Topps has a pitching shot of Dickey with the Mets. Opening Day and Series 2 have a pitching shot with a photoshopped Blue Jays uniform. Here we get a real Blue Jays uniform.

2014 Topps Series 2 has a photo of Cruz in an orange Orioles jersey warming up.
2014 Topps Chrome Nelson Cruz


If you’d like to see a list I’d compiled of players who were in Topps Chrome but not in regular Topps (2009 – 2014), click here.

If you’d like to see a list I’d compiled of Mets and Orioles cards from 2009 to 2014 which had different photos, click here.

If you’d like to listen to “Chrome” by Joe Jackson (off of Volume 4, easily my favorite 21st Century JJ album), then check this out:

Leave a Reply

