2015 TSR: Ichiro Smiles

I have a feeling this is going to be a pack full of extra goodness…
2015 TSR Wrapper Series Three

…But why does Ichiro smile?  I’ll get to that in a minute… First off, I looked at the 2015 TSR cards I’ve posted so far, and realized that the Blue Jays are the one team from which I haven’t posted any customs.  I wanted to get that remedied immediately, and what better way to do that than to feature the guy who currently looks the most out-of-place in his new Jays uniform, Mr. Troy Tulowitzki
2015 TSR #305 - Troy Tulowitzki
I may be the last baseball fan in North America to pick up on this, but when I was looking for images of Tulo to use, I saw several that prominently featured the number 2 on his back, and it occurred to me – Oh, hey! Two like in 2-lowitzki!

You know who else looks strange in his uniform (but for different reasons)?  Adam Jones wearing his All-Star warmups on his fresh-off-the-press All Star inserts!
2015 TSR AS-4 Adam Jones
I don’t really like the idea of the various team caps being done in Cincinnati colors, but it is what it is.

Speaking of the Orioles… I featured a 2015 Highlights card when the Mets got no hit by Chris Heston, it’s only fair that Hisashi Iwakuma gets a card when the Orioles get no-hit.
2015 TSR #306 - Iwakuma No-Hitter
Things have picked up for the Mets since they got no-hit… Sure, guys like Cespedes may have something to do with that… so maybe this will be a wake-up call for the O’s.

Now that the Mets are in first – and I don’t kid myself about it, it’s just as much about the Nats floundering as it is about the Mets improving – but anyway, now that the Mets are in first, I was thinking I hadn’t heard many comments about Terry Collins being an idiot.
2015 TSR MC-4 Terry Collins
…At least not until pitcher Logan Verrett pitched an effective inning against the Orioles on Wednesday, and everybody was screaming “Why didn’t Collins leave Verrett in?!?” after the Orioles got a walk-off win several innings later.  It’s good to know that some things don’t change.

Back in Series… um… Two? Was it Two? Let me take a look… Nope, Series One… Anyway, starting a few months ago I started featuring players who were rumored to get traded, as I had plans for a special “Traded” card like they had in the 1970’s. One of those players was Cole Hamels:
2015 TSR #36 - Cole Hamels
Well, for those of you who haven’t been paying attention, Mr. hamels is now a Texas Ranger. And so, I would like to introduce a “Traded” card from my set…
2015 TSR #300 Cole Hamels
Visually, the card is semi-intentionally similar to 1974 Traded, but as far as it’s role in the set goes it’s more like 1972 in that it’s not an insert, instead it’s a base card in a later series that’s updating a card in an earlier series. That’s why Hamels shows up as “TRADED” while Tulo does not; the Tulowitzki card was the first in 2015 TSR, so it doesn’t need to be flagged.

Another All-Star insert. As Keith Olbermann used to say, “Lorenzo Cain is his name”. 2015 TSR AS-1 Lorenzo Cain
Still don’t like those caps with the two stripes across them.

Andrew Benintendi, picked #7 in the draft by the Red Sox, just got moved up from the short-season Lowell Spinners to Single-A Greenville Drive.  Just to underline the transaction, Benintendi hit two homers in his first game with Greenville.
2015 TSR DP-7 Andrew Benintendi
The Lowell Spinners have a van that is painted up like “The Mystery Machine” from the Scooby Doo cartoons… it is quite possibly the greatest vehicle associated with a minor league team.

Aaron Judge is a large man… He is football player large:  6’7″, 275 pounds. He’s also a well-regarded prospect, and the Yankees’ #2 prospect coming into this season (after Luis Severino, who’s currently on the big team).
2015 TSR FG-6 Aaron Judge

You’re probably wondering when I was going to get to “Ichiro Smiles”. I ran across this picture of Ichiro, and knew I had to do something with it because it’s such a great picture.
2015 TSR #308 - Ichiro Suzuki
I don’t want to go as far as saying that Ichiro never smiles, but it seems that any time you see a photo of him, he’s got his game face going. I figure a custom card like this is going to be popular with the Ichiro fans who are starved for cardboard, real or otherwise.

7 thoughts on “2015 TSR: Ichiro Smiles

  1. Very nice work on these. The Terry Collins card is especially cool. And I’m in agreement with your All Star uni variation opinions. Those caps are awful. And the whole ‘Let’s sell more jerseys by making host team variations’ thing is tiresome. But as long as people keep buying this stuff they will keep selling it..

    Oh, and get off my lawn.

  2. Excellent lot. I love the addition of The Shlabotnik Report (& the font used), they remind me of when Topps used The Sporting News header. Great touch.
    On the wax: “Look for STUFF in each pack.”
    lol, I love it.

Leave a Reply

