It Just Seems Like A Day For Random Cards

I had a themed post ready for today, but I just didn’t feel like posting it.  Today seems more like a “random cards” sort of day, whaddaya think?

I’m slowly working through a wax box of 1992 Stadium Club Series 3… It didn’t start out slow, I enjoyed the heck out of it for a while… but it’s’ a 300 card series and a 540-card box, halfway through the box I hit the “doubles wall”.

This card might be the one I’ve enjoyed most, mainly for the “What the what?!?” factor.  Kirk Gibson… with the Bucs????
1992 Stadium Club Kirk Gibson
Gibson was with the Royals in 1991, got traded to the Pirates early in 1992 Spring Training, but only played 16 games for Pittsburgh before getting released.  Batting below the Mendoza Line will do that to a guy.

Also from 1992 is this O-Pee-Chee Premier card of Ozzie Smith… Familiar player, familiar team, but in this case unfamiliar set (to most, anyway).
1992 OPC Premier Ozzie Smith

Kellogg’s Keith Hernandez from 1981.
1981 Kelloggs Keith Hernandez
In 1979 and 1980, the Cardinals put the “TV numbers” on the uniform sleeves so that it wouldn’t take away from the beautiful chain-stitched birds-on-a-bat logo.  This photo gives a good demonstration of why that look only lasted two seasons.

It’s been a while since I posted a 1956 Topps card…
1956 Topps Ray Jablonski
As with pretty much all of the 1956’s in my collection, it was cheap, it had a good action shot, it was 1956, I bought it.

Remember when Chris Davis rookie cards would set you back a few bucks?  I’d been wanting to buy this Heritage High #’s card for a while, but it was always too expensive for my budget.  That’s not the case now, so I struck while the iron was… um… cold.
2008 Heritage Hi Numbers Chris Davis

This past Friday was “Force Friday” for those who are into Star Wars merch.  I hear that this is what happened to retailers who didn’t comply with “Force Friday”:
1977 Topps Star Wars #237

I think this post might need one more card… What do you say, one more card?
1975 Hostess Tony Oliva

Finally, on Saturday I posted about a PWE from Shoebox Legends, but inadvertently left out one of the cooler parts of the PWE… the stamp!
Jimi Hendrix stamp postmarked

I love a cool stamp when it comes along, it goes back to high school when I spent a couple of years collecting stamps (contrary to the general perception at the time that I was a nerd).

I appreciate the hell out of Jimi’s guitar skills, but I’ll admit I’m not much of a Hendrix fan… guess I’m not experienced, nor have I ever been experienced.  That’s not to say I don’t love me some Hendrix, just not the Hendrix that most other people love…

Favorite Hendrix songs:
Fire
Manic Depression
Crosstown Traffic

Favorite Hendrix covers:
Voodoo Child (Slight Return) – Stevie Ray Vaughn and Double Trouble (from the album “Couldn’t Stand The Weather”)
Hey, Joe – Buckwheat Zydeco (from the album “On Track”)

Favorite Hendrix parody:
Holidaze (S’cuze Me, I’ve Got Gifts To Buy) – Bob Rivers (from the album “More Twisted Christmas”)

4 thoughts on “It Just Seems Like A Day For Random Cards

  1. All great cards, especially the Star Wars one! I need to get a few cards from those sets. Glad you noticed the Hendrix stamp. I’d count Manic Depression among my favorite songs of his as well.

Leave a Reply

