The long-delayed Weigh-In #52, Plus A Number Of Oddballs

Weight loss works better if you keep track of what you eat and weigh yourself regularly. I’m trying to shed some pounds in the form of excess cardboard… but I’ve been bad about sharing my results.

When I started this blog, weigh-in’s were a weekly thing. I slipped, and it became quarterly… and now I haven’t done one of these since early February. To make matters worse, I strongly suspect I’m not going to like the results.

I know it’s not the most exciting subject for a post, which is why I’ve included the oddballs.

The numbers here reflect changes since February 4th.

Net change in the collection since 2/4/15:  +923 (1,817 added, 894 purged)

1987 Kraft Barfield  Smith

Net change to the # of cards in the house since 2/4/15:  +2,296 (2,448 in, 152 out)

1990 K-Mart Superstars Kevin Mitchell

In the below figures, “to date” means since I started tracking this stuff on 10/16/2011.

Total # of cards purged from the collection, to date: 11,489

1992 GameDay Louis Lipps

Total # of cards which have left the house, to date: 42,014

1991 Pacific Nolan Ryan Set - Nolan at Age 20

Net change to the collection, to date: -1,623

1974 Kellogg's Tommy Davis

Net change to the number of cards in the house, to date: -24,108

1987 League Leaders Wally Joyner

Number of individual cards tracked in my Access database: 51,704

1979 Hostess John Henry Johnson

Number of cards that make up the sets flagged as completed in my Access database: 17,623

…which means I’ve got at least 69,327 cards in my collection.

1984 Topps Ralston Purina Keith Hernandez

Epilogue:  I’m not happy with where I am… I really need to de-bloat my collection, but I’m heading in the wrong direction.  On the other hand, when I look at the number of cards I have purged and the number which have left the house… I’d hate to think of where I’d be if I hadn’t started purging 4 years ago.

1975 Fleer Pioneers Of Baseball Art Nehf

2 thoughts on “The long-delayed Weigh-In #52, Plus A Number Of Oddballs

  1. purge
    pərj/

    verb: purge; 3rd person present: purges; past tense: purged; past participle: purged; gerund or present participle: purging

    1.
    rid (someone) of an unwanted feeling, memory, or condition, typically giving a sense of cathartic release.
    “Bob had helped purge Martha of the terrible guilt that had haunted her”
    synonyms: cleanse, clear, purify, wash, shrive, absolve

Leave a Reply

