A Mother Of A Task

During a recent COMC promotion, I was trying to think of different ways to shop for cards, and I got this idea… I should get my Mother’s Cookies wantlists squared away so that I know what to look for.

It seemed like a good idea… I’m on the east coast, so I rarely see Mother’s Cookies cards at shows. If I can find relatively cheap examples on COMC, they would make some nice additions to some of my player collections.

So I decided that the best way to get a wantlist together is to compile a “master checklist” of Mother’s cards from tradingcarddb.com, and then I would know for sure which cards I want, and would also be able to go back and “check off” the cards I already had. Great idea, right?

Boy, was that a mistake.

I did not fully appreciate just how many Mother’s Cookies cards there are. I was thinking a couple of hundred, but my “master list” contains 115 Mother’s Cookies sets and 2,721 cards over a span of 20 years… and that doesn’t include the Pacific Coast League sets from the 1950’s.

It took me far longer than I’d intended but I did eventually get the task done, and here are four Mother’s Cookies cards I got off of my newly-established wantlists…

This one is my favorite of the batch; it’s from a 1994 set commemorating the fact that both of the 1993 Rookies Of The Year played for Southern California teams.
1994 Mother's Cookies Rookie Of The Year Salmon Piazza
There were four different cards which featured both Mike Piazza and Tim Salmon, plus two short printed foil inserts. Of the “base cards”, I liked this one the best.

The 1983 Giants set was the first one issued by Mother’s Cookies in the 1980’s, and it has a design that’s unusual in that it’s not full bleed like Mother’s Cookies cards typically are.
1983 Mother's Cookies Giants Joel Youngblood
Joel Youngblood spent six years with the Mets, and is probably best known for getting a hit with two teams in the same day. On August 4, 1982 he got a hit for the Mets at Wrigley Field, was traded to the Expos, flew to Philadelphia to meet up with his new team, and got a hit in the “night cap”. Both hits came against future Hall-of-Famers (Fergie Jenkins and Steve Carlton).

Mike Vail played mainly for the Mets, Cubs and Reds, but he’s also had several short stints, including 18 games for the Giants in 1983.
1983 Mother's Cookies Giants Mike Vail
As far as I know, this is the only card of Mike Vail to show him with the Giants. He’s got cards representing his other short stints – 34 games with the Expos, 16 games with the Dodgers – but nothing for his 14 games with the Indians in 1978. Sounds like a custom card waiting to happen… if there are any photos available…

Mark Carreon was in the Mets organization for 10 years, but it wasn’t until a year or so ago that I found out he was a second-generation Major Leaguer.
1994 Mother's Cookies Giants Mark Carreon
His father, Camilo, was a catcher who played for the White Sox, Orioles and Indians in the 1960’s. He got on baseball cards with the latter two, despite only 19 games for the Tribe and 4 games for the O’s.

8 thoughts on “A Mother Of A Task

  1. I can’t believe you actually followed through with cataloging all of those! I’ve considered it once or twice but it seemed too mammoth a task…

  2. Joel Youngblood is an interesting story. He came up with the Reds in 1976 and played sparingly during the season. He was traded to the Cards the following spring. Later that year he was traded from St. Louis to the Mets on the same day as the Tom Seaver to the Reds trade. So some here in Cincinnati (myself included) forget that he wasn’t actually part of that deal but ended up in NYC with four of his old teammates from the Reds.

    He returned to the Reds in 1989 for one season then retired. I think he was briefly a coach here also.

      • I always get Joel Y. and Doug Flynn confused in that trade. They were both newbies on the World Series teams of the mid-70’s and came to NY at the same time. There are a number of ex-Reds in that 1978 Topps Mets team set. And as much as I enjoyed Seaver’s stay in Cincinnati, it still seems odd to see him in something other than a Mets uniform.

Leave a Reply

