Pack Animal: 2015 Topps Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens

So yesterday I bought a pack of this ridiculously long-named set for several reasons…

2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To wrapper

…But I had two primary reasons.

The first reason… OK, fine, it was a $2 post topic at a time when I needed something relatively quick to write about.

But the more exciting reason was that the Target I was in had newly-installed self service checkouts. Yep, I could buy a single pack of cards without having a vague feeling that the cashier is mentally shaking her head at this middle-aged guy buying a pack of Star Wars cards.

Before we get started, it’s only fair to point out that while I thoroughly enjoyed the original trilogy, I am not a huge fan of Star Wars. I was 12 when the first movie came out, so I never practiced my lightsaber skills in my bedroom, nor have I ever received a single Star Wars toy as a gift.  I *do* have a bendy Darth Vader figure that was the “mascot” for a bowling team of mine 20+ years ago, and has been riding around in my bowling bag ever since (Darth is coated with a thin layer of  baby powder as a result).

Oh, and I found the second trilogy to be disappointingly joyless and kinda boring.

OK, on to the cards…

2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0004
The card stock is heritage-y, and the design for many of them is a tribute to the earliest Star Wars cards. Here’s the back of this one:
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0007

I think this one is an “Empire Strikes Back” design, if I remember correctly.
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0002
…and screw you, George Lucas, Han DID shoot first. Justice for Greedo!!!!

These “Choose Your Destiny” cards are a Target exclusive. Yay.  Here’s the back…
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0008

Another base card… Actually, this might be a “Black Starfield” parallel.
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0001
I love the part where the Wampa puts the star on the top of the Christmas tree… Oh, wait, that was the Bumble in “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer”.

Sticker insert.
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0005

Base card… Maybe a “Jabba Slime Green Starfield” parallel.  My scanner makes it look more yellowish than it really is.
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0010

Final insert…  Concept Art
2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0006

2015 Topps Star Wars The Journey To _0009

So here’s where the “Not a huge fan” part comes back into play….

My rating for this pack is a very solid “meh”.  It was 6 cards for only $2, which is a good thing.  The cards are pretty uninteresting, which is a bad thing.  I might include one or two of the inserts in a box I’m shipping off to COMC in the next few days; Whichever cards I don’t ship will be included in the cards I give out to neighborhood kids at Halloween.

3 thoughts on “Pack Animal: 2015 Topps Journey To Star Wars: The Force Awakens

  1. I was far too lazy to read the 20 minute(?) scrolling prelude to the first movie in the series so I never understood what the heck was going on in Star Wars. I enjoyed the special effects and the Princess’ costume though.

    Put me down as much more of a Star Trek guy.

  2. Topps is going to milk it’s Star Wars license for everything it’s worth. I’ll probably pick up a box of this stuff in a few years for $5 at the flea market… just to get my hands on a few of those stickers.

Leave a Reply

