My New Favorite Basketball Card

When I was a kid in the 1970’s, there was one thing that would get me to watch basketball of any kind, and that’s when the Harlem Globetrotters were on TV.  I always tried to watch whenever they were on “Wide World Of Sports”, but they generally had a high profile in the 1970’s and early 1980’s.  They had their own Saturday morning cartoons, they met the Scooby Doo gang, they even ended up on Gilligan’s Island and The Love Boat.

…And, as I found out recently, they also had their own card set.
1972 Fleer Harlem Globetrotters Bobby Hunter
This is a card of Bobby Hunter from the 1972 Fleer Harlem Globetrotters set. I ran across these cards while shopping on COMC a few months ago and had to pick one up. Most of the names I remember – Meadowlark Lemon, Curly Neal, Geese Ausbie, Bobby Joe Mason – were a little more money than I’d wanted to spend on a set I wasn’t familiar with, but I liked the photo on this card and figured that, if nothing else, it would be a good addition to my very modest basketball collection.

Here’s the back of the card.
1972 Fleer Harlem Globetrotters Bobby Hunter back
These came in wax packs, and there were 84 cards in the set with each player being featured on multiple cards.  As I found out, there was a smaller, nearly identical Cocoa Puffs set which had a facsimile autograph on the back and a Cocoa Puffs logo on the back.

I don’t know how long this card is going to remain my favorite basketball card, because I plan on going back and getting more from this set.

These are new to me, but I’m playing a major game of catch-up when it comes to basketball cards.  Does anybody else have these or the Cocoa Puff “parallel” set?  Feel free to post a link to any blog entries you may have written.

 

5 thoughts on “My New Favorite Basketball Card

  1. If only there was a Globetrotter card for Fergie Jenkins… I’m honestly surprised there aren’t more card sets for such an iconic franchise, especially from their heyday of the 70’s & 80’s.

  2. One of my friends from my University of Houston days, Lou Dunbar played and coached the Trotters. For a couple of years I got some access to them when the played here. I’ve got a few pictures which I need to dig out of my albums one of these days. Good times.

Leave a Reply

