Thoughts On The Mets, Plus Recently Acquired Mets Cards

I’ve been pretty quiet about the playoffs so far, and I would guess that some of you are wondering why a Mets fan hasn’t weighed in on the subject.

I’ll admit, part of my silence was not wanting to jinx the Mets.
1969 Topps Cleon Jones

When this season started, my expectations were “This is the year we don’t suck!” A wild card spot would be cool, but being something other than painful to watch (not to mention putting the whole “LOLMets” meme to bed) was my wish for the season.
1992 Stadium Club Dwight Gooden
Halfway through the season, that’s about what it looked like. The Mets were a decent team, but didn’t look like world-beaters.

…But then again, neither did the Nationals (despite all the preseason talk of 100 wins and a championship).
1997 Pinnacle Denny's Todd Hundley
Then the Mets made a move where they actually traded away prospects for major league talent, rather than the other way around. They picked up Kelly “The Happy Wanderer” Johnson and Juan Uribe for two fringey pitching prospects. I liked the deal, and thought that would be THE big move towards acquiring mid-season help. After all, the Mets weren’t going to be serious contenders until next year, right?

2013 Topps Archives Howard Johnson
They also picked up Tyler Clippard to bolster the bullpen, another nice trade to help the team without selling out on the future.

Then, much to my surprise, they picked up Yoenis Cespedes. It was at that point that I realized that they had more than meaningful September baseball in mind.

2013 Topps Finest Matt Harvey
But all along, I kept in mind that this wasn’t necessarily supposed to be happening. I enjoyed the Nationals falling apart because that franchise’s arrogance annoys the crap out of me (a subject for another post, another day), but I didn’t get carried away about the division title… Hell, both wild card teams had better records than the Mets.
1962 Topps Gus Bell
I tried to keep in mind that the Mets, like Dante in the movie “Clerks”, were “not even supposed to be here today”.

They beat the Dodgers, which was thoroughly enjoyable because I’d run across a fair number of Dodger fans who were beating their chests about how unbeatable Kershaw & Greinke were…. Plus I’m still pissed about the Dodgers beating the Mets in the 1988 NLCS.
1964 Topps Jim Hickman
The Cubs made the NLCS difficult for me because the Cubs were my second-favorite team in the postseason and I have a few friends who are Cubs fans. As games between the Mets and Orioles have taught me, it’s harder to enjoy a game when you like both teams.

…which is why, after the Mets swept the Cubs, I switched my AL rooting interest to the moderately obnoxious Royals. I decided that, win or lose, the World Series would be more fun with a bad guy. Hopefully I won’t come to regret that.
1967 Topps Bob Shaw
So here we are, on the cusp of Game 1. I still maintain my mindset that this season is already an overwhelming success, and anything else is just gravy. Sure, I want the Mets to win, but given all the unexpected joys of this season, all I really ask for is that the World Series be fun to watch.
1970 Topps Tom Seaver
Let’s Go Mets!

4 thoughts on “Thoughts On The Mets, Plus Recently Acquired Mets Cards

  1. Good luck and enjoy the Series.

    In 1990, I felt very much like you do now. After several consecutive years of coming up short, the Reds shocked the world by sweeping the A’s. I was just happy they made it that far but thrilled when they actually won it. Those guys were all around my age then and it was my generation’s version of the Big Red Machine.

    Go Mets!

  2. With the Cubs loss I don’t really care anymore. It’s hard to root for the Mets at any time and I don’t have a clue about KC. I like the Hickman card, partly becuase he was a big part of the 1969 Cubs. Too bad for him I guess. He looks like he’s really waiting to catch a fly ball. “Acting! Thank you.!”

  3. LGM!!! Definitely nervous. KC’s rotation is a bit thin, but otherwise they are as complete a “team” as you’ll find. Hope it’s a great Series and, most importantly, that the Mets win!

  4. I thought I didn’t care who won, but in the middle of Game 1 I was instinctively rooting for the Royals and it hasn’t stopped. Part of that is I’m still pissed about the Mets beating the Dodgers (and some of the histrionics that went on in NYC during that series), but the other is that the Mets — except for their pitching — just don’t strike me as Series-winning material. That probably means they’ll pull off a miraculous inexplicable comeback, but the Royals look so much more built to win.

Leave a Reply

