Working On A Puzzle

I recently moved two steps forward to completing my 1972 Topps New York Mets team set… Check out these two cards from the tough 6th Series…

First we have Hall-Of-Famer Rod Carew In Action…
1972 Topps Rod Carew IA

Then we have “good field, no hit” catcher and manager-to-be Pat Corrales.
1972 Topps Pat Corrales IA

I’ve been chasing down affordable copies of these cards for two years, and it’s a relief that I’m so close to finishing this ridiculously large Mets team set after all this—

What’s that?

No, no, I’m fine. I appreciate your concern for my mental health, but I do not need to get to a nearby urgent care facility.  Rod Carew and Pat Corrales most definitely belong in my Mets team set.

The reason why they belong has to do with what Topps refers to as “PUZZLE D”.

First I’ll show you the back of the Carew card, to give you the idea…
1972 Topps Rod Carew IA Seaver back

…and then Corrales.
1972 Topps Pat Corrales IA Seaver back
See?  “PUZZLE D” features Tom Seaver, and I’m including the puzzle as part of my Mets team set.  …So please put down the phone, you don’t need to call 911.

Here’s where my puzzle currently stands:
1972 Topps Puzzle D (Tom Seaver) Nov 2015
Once I pick up the remaining two puzzle pieces, I’ll be finally, FINALLY done with this 53-card (by my definition) team set.  Between the upcoming COMC Black Friday promotion, and a card show I plan on attending in December, I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to show you the complete puzzle by the end of the year.

4 thoughts on “Working On A Puzzle

  1. As someone who has completed the 72 set I also felt obligated as a Red Sox collector to go back and collect the additional cards that made up the second puzzle of the 72 set which was of Yaz. Yaz also had a puzzle in the 68 and 69 set.

Leave a Reply

