I Was Bored: 2015/16 NBA Hoops

I was in Target, I was bored and in need of packs to bust, I wanted something different, NBA Hoops is cheap, I said “What the heck”.
2015-16 Panini NBA Hoops Wrapper
…Not that I know anything about the NBA… To show how little I know, I saw a guy in a Cavs jersey on the pack and assumed it was Lebron James (who I resent because his mom is my age and that just ain’t right). Just as I was wrapping up this post, I said “Wait a minute.. #2? That’s not Lebron”. According to the Cavliers’ roster, #2 is Kyrie Irving. It looks like Irving is a good player, but since we’re talking about a Panini product, I wonder if they meant to put him on the pack. Maybe someone can set me straight on that.

I’m amused that “10 NBA CARDS!” warrants an exclamation mark.

So here’s a base card… FYI, the part at the top that says “NBA HOOPS 15*16” is silver foil.  It’s an OK design.  I’ve certainly seen a whole lot worse.
2015-16 Panini NBA Hoops Derrick Rose
Love the guy with the mohawk.  Love the guy in the background who’s uni # is zero.

This is my favorite card in the pack, I’m not entirely sure why.  I guess it’s the visual effect of a guy in a white uniform against a white background, but who knows.
2015-16 Panini NBA Hoops Shane Larkin

If you read off the names of the players in my pack, mixed with random names, the only one I would be able to say “Yes!  He is a basketball player” is Tony Parker….
2015-16 Panini NBA Hoops Tony Parker End 2 End
…But for me it’s more “He’s the guy who was married to Eva Longoria… and he’s a basketball player”.

That card was my insert, BTW.

We’ll wrap it up with a Denver Nuggets rookie who I thought was posing deep within the bowels of an arena… or perhaps the hallway at a nearby HVAC company…
2015-16 Panini NBA Hoops Emmanuel Mudiay
…But something didn’t look quite right.  Would they photoshop him in front of a cinder block wall? I looked on eBay and all of the rookies are against the same wall (in team colors). What the WHAT?!?  That’s an… interesting… design choice.

Those are the best of my “10 NBA CARDS!” Hopefully I’ve satisfied someone’s curiosity and spared them a couple of bucks.

8 thoughts on “I Was Bored: 2015/16 NBA Hoops

  1. Well, if you’re looking for a connection between your ill-advised NBA card purchase and your love of MLB cards, know that Shane Larkin is the son of Cincy Reds HOF Barry Larkin. You’re welcome…

    • Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! As soon as you said “Barry Larkin” I remembered what Shane Larkin looks like and said “Yeah, yeah, I should’ve seen that”. As someone who started a player collection of soccer player Marvell Wynne solely because he’s the son of former Met Marvell Wynne, I can definitely see my way clear to keeping the card of Barry Larkin’s son.

      Oh, and “Thank you”. :-)

  2. Derrick Rose was the MVP a few years back before blowing out both knees. He seems to have a strange (not so good) attitude and a lot of us Bulls fans are sort of fed up with him.

    • Rose’s name was vaguely familiar to me, but I excluded him because I wouldn’t have immediately said “basketball” if you said “Derrick Rose”. I would’ve said “I think I may have heard of him”.

      …Or thought that you were stating that the framework over an oil well had started to levitate. “So what happened after the derrick rose?”

      • I actually think of names that way sometimes. Just off the top of my head, Kerry Wood — as in “I don’t know about myself but I’m sure Kerry Wood.”

  3. Kyrie Irving is really good. I don’t know if it’s Ohio bias, but all the Cincinnati kids are all about Kyrie. It’s like a tie between him and Steph Curry. So I think he’s legit.

  4. I didn’t realize the ‘NBA Hoops’ brand name was still being used. Back in 1990-ish I put the Hoops set together by trading with kids in my classes. Those things were everywhere.

    Like you Tony Parker is the only name I recognize but I would have bet he was coaching the Knicks. I looked it up…that guy is named Derek Fisher. btw…I thought Kyrie Irving was an actress’ name.

Leave a Reply

