More Cards Featuring Automobiles, Thanksgiving Edition

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody! Today I want to feature some cards that have absolutely nothing to do with Thanksgiving.

I’ll start off the festivities with a 1961 Topps Sports Cars card of the Simca Plein Ciel; Simca was a French automobile.
1961 Topps Sports Cars Simca Plein Ciel
1961 Topps Sports Cars Simca back

This one is a 1976 Topps “Autos Of 1977” card of a Mercury Monarch Ghia. My first car was a 1976 Ford Granada, which was largely the same car, just with different grille, taillights and fewer options.
1976 Topps Autos Of 1977 Monarch Ghia
Looking back over 40 years, one can’t help but look at a lot of cars from the 1970’s and say “DAMN! Those things were boxy”.

I got this card on COMC back in the Spring, and before I even saw the back I said “Isn’t that John Lennon’s car???” (BTW, this is from the 1992 Pro Set “Guinness Book Of Records” set)
1992 Pro Set Guinness Biggest Deal For Old Wheels
I didn’t scan the back, but it describes how Lennon’s 1965 Rolls-Royce Phantom V was sold at a Sotheby’s auction for $2,229,000, which had been the record for the highest price paid for a used car before 1990.

And we wrap up with another 1961 Topps Sports Cars card…
1961 Topps Sports Cars Peerless GT
1961 Topps Sports Cars Peerless GT back
I find the cartoon on the back, about how jack rabbit starts burn lots of gas, to be interesting. I didn’t realize that anybody cared all that much about burning lots of gas in 1961. Wasn’t gas like 2 cents a gallon then? :-)

As of right now, I have shared all of my 1961 Sports Cars cards… But I do plan on looking for more at an upcoming show, as well as during the COMC Black Friday promotion.

Oh! Did I happen to mention the COMC Black Friday promotion just now? How fortuitous!

I will be *am* taking part in the COMC Black Friday promotion (it’s live NOW), and I have 200 new cards in my inventory as well. Among the highlights are rookie cards for John Elway, Wade Boggs and Ryne Sandberg… a chrome reprint of the 1989 Topps Traded Ken Griffey rookie (from my 2015 Topps Factory Set)… Plus lots more!

More information about my promotion tomorrow…

Happy Turkey Day!

4 thoughts on “More Cards Featuring Automobiles, Thanksgiving Edition

  1. I’m just getting caught up on blog reading and saw this today. Love those old car cards. The Merc reminds me of my ’75 Chrysler New Yorker. It was like a concrete block on wheels….until a Houston city bus wrecked me at a stop light.

Leave a Reply

