2016 Archives: Topps, You Are On Notice!

Topps recently announced that the three main designs they will use for 2016 Archives are the designs from 1953, 1991 and 1979.

Just like everybody does impressions of Bill Clinton or Christopher Walken, everybody who does customs does 1979 Topps…  And I mean everybodyEVERYBODY!

Almost missed a couple:   Every – body!

I myself have gotten a fair amount of use out of my 97T template, and tweaked it a bit for this post.

2016 TSR 79T Ichiro Suzuki

When it comes to replication, designs just don’t come much easier than 1979 Topps.

2016 TSR 79T Kyle Schwarber

…which is why I make this solemn vow:  Topps, if you screw up 79T, I swear I WILL COME DOWN ON YOU LIKE A TON OF BRICKS!

…Not that anybody involved with Topps will even notice that it’s happened, but the fact remains that I WILL COME DOWN ON YOU LIKE A TON OF BRICKS!

2016 TSR 79T Odubel Herrera

And the same goes for 1953!!!

2016 TSR 53T Steven Matz

I gotta admit, I was so pleased with the way this 1953 Steven Matz came out that I’m almost a little afraid to try another 1953 custom.  I guess we’ll see.

Oh, and by the way… Being snowed in and all this weekend, I got a little carried away with the 1979 template…

2016 TSR 79T Caleb Joseph

2016 TSR 79T Justin Turner

2016 TSR 79T Max Kepler

Maybe I’m overcompensating for the fact that I couldn’t drive out to the store to buy a box of cereal with a Hot Stove card in it… Next weekend, I promise.

 

5 thoughts on “2016 Archives: Topps, You Are On Notice!

  1. I’m with you. If Topps uses any color scheme for the 1979 Topps-style Phillies cards other than pink and purple, I will be extremely disappointed.

  2. Pingback: My Latest Attempt To Out-Archive Topps | The Shlabotnik Report

  3. Pingback: Archives Challenge Weekend: 1979 Topps And Other Customs | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

