More Customs Based On 1976 Traded, Complete With Bad “Airbrushing” And Goofy Headlines

Gary over at Coco Crisp’s Afro is a bad influence.

It was his suggestion that resulted in my first attempt to create a custom baseball card that featured simulated bad 1970’s airbrushing of a player’s cap and jersey. It was a fun diversion, but after I was done I put it aside so I could continue my work on a ground-breaking invention I have in mind.

Unfortunately, Gary had to go and suggest another custom card and I am weak-willed. So sorry, humanity… Cheap, renewable sources of energy will have to wait. There are customs to be made!

Gary asked to see Yonder Alonso, one of the Athletics’ offseason acquisitions, digitally manipulated into an A’s uniform in the cheesiest manner possible. Fortunately, I already had some lame word play in mind for the “headline” on the resulting 1976 Topps Traded-inspired custom.
2015-16 TSR Hot Stove 76T-2 Yonder Alonso
While making this custom, it occurred to me that this is the 40th anniversary of 1976 Topps, one of my favorite all-time sets.  Maybe I should make more customs in the Traded design…

But because this is me we’re talking about, it’s not enough to have a player I’m willing and/or able to badly photoshop. I also needed to have a goofy faux headline in mind.

And so, for an additional example of this custom set, I didn’t create it for any of the top free agents or other big names on the move this winter. Nope, I chose to use another player for whom I already had the kernel of a bad headline in mind.

It didn’t hurt that this custom was for a player acquired by my Mets.
2015-16 TSR Hot Stove 76T-3 Asdrubal Cabrera

I have to admit, it’s a thin line between “awesomely bad” and “just bad”, and I went through several versions of both of these customs. My goal in these two was to come up with something that looked like some imaginary artist had given it their best shot but ultimately failed.

A footnote for any Doctor Who fans out there: For Yonder Alonso I briefly considered a headline along the lines of “Allons-y, Alonso!” but I figured it would be lost on most of the population. Whovians will have to settle for this mention at the end of the post.

5 thoughts on “More Customs Based On 1976 Traded, Complete With Bad “Airbrushing” And Goofy Headlines

Leave a Reply

