We’ve Got A Call On The Request Line…

Shlabotnik Report reader FatCat47 had a request I couldn’t refuse… He wanted to know if I could do some customs of current-day stars in the style of 1982 Donruss.

…And I said “Heck, yeah!”  1982 Donruss is a set I’ve always liked in a “less is more” sort of way… especially since it was so much better than 1981 Donruss, while Fleer (which I loved in 1981) took a step backwards with their 1982 set.

I’m also going to use this as an excuse to kick off “TSRchives”, a new custom set of sorts using the templates I’ve accumulated over several years of making customs, as well as new ones like this.

2016 TSRchives 82D-6 Cole Hamels

And just to make it clear, the name is supposed to be “TSRchives” as a play on “The Shlabotnik Report” and “Archives”.  It’s not anything to do with chives.

2016 TSRchives 82D-8 Yoenis Cespedes

…And if you’re looking at these on a mobile device and the images are too small to see what that light blue thing is in the top right corner, that’s my little cartoon head from my blog’s banner.  I figure there’s no need to keep a Donruss logo there, especially if some no-good person decides to print out my images and sell them on eBay.

2016 TSRchives 82D-9 Bryce Harper

I included Bryce Harper partly because I wanted to feature a team that wasn’t in the original set (and justify my use of a not-quite-right font instead of just copying the team names from scans of the original cards).

2016 TSRchives 82D-3 Mike Trout

The Mike Trout image is the one out of these five that I don’t feel is 100% “Donrussy” since it’s from a night game.  I’m sure you can deal with it.

2016 TSRchives 82D-5 - Masahiro Tanaka

So there we go… Hope everybody enjoyed this little side trip!  I’ve got another set of requested customs in the works, and if you have any requests for customs from a set that’s within my abilities, let me know!

11 thoughts on “We’ve Got A Call On The Request Line…

  1. Boy do I appreciate you granting my request! These look awesome! Can you do the 1984 Donruss? If not, that’s okay. The ’82 style that you did was soooo AWESOME! Thanks, Joe!

  2. I’ve always been very partial to both the 1981 and 1982 Donruss designs. I don’t know if it’s the design that I’m appealed to or the nostalgia for where I was in life when I was first opening packs of these cards back in the day.

    • Totally agree with you, Ringo, just wish the ’81 set wasn’t so rife with so many errors. But it was a nice change from Topps.

Leave a Reply

