Pack Animal: 2005 BBM 1st Version Baseball

The other day I was shopping in Target, and even though I knew there wouldn’t be anything out there but 2016 Topps, I took a look anyway… and there wasn’t anything out there but 2016 Topps.  I started to get a little dejected, because I felt like busting a pack…

…Which is when I remembered that I had unopened Japanese packs at home, saved for the proverbial rainy day.  Much more fun than 2016 Topps.

So this is a pack of 2005 BBM 1st Version that I picked up at the National a couple of years ago.
2005 BBM 1st Version Wrapper Front

Here’s the back…
2005 BBM 1st Version Wrapper back

First card…
2005 BBM 1st Version Masahiko Morino
Masahiko Morino of the Dragons. You can tell from the photo that the Dragons play in a dome.

…Y el dorso… (is that even proper Spanish? As someone who can actually speak it.)
2005 BBM 1st Version Masahiko Morino back

Not sure I like this design, but it’s not like I have a hobby box to open.  The cards seem glossier than others I’ve seen, or maybe that’s just my imagination.

Next up, Yutaka Tamaki, a rookie.
2005 BBM 1st Version Yutaka Tamaki
Judging by his NPB stats, I’m thinking he spends much of his time in the minors… 20 games between 2006 and 2015, with no games from 2009 to 2012.

Gaijin!  It’s former MLB journeyman Andy Sheets!  It’s always fun to pull a player I’ve heard of before.
2005 BBM 1st Version Andy Sheets
Sheets played 5 years in NPB, 2 with the Carp and 3 with the Tigers.  Over his NPB career, he batted .289 with 95 homers and 374 RBI.

This next card is really nice, but doesn’t scan well… A Tadahito Iguchi Golden Glove insert.  It’s got a finish that’s hard to describe… Sort of chrome-y, but not really… But it seems to have a different sheen than the regular card. The BBM logo and the “Golden Glove” graphic at the bottom are in gold foil.
2005 BBM 1st Version Tadahito Iguchi Golden Glove
I know that this card is commemorating the previous year’s Golden Glove award, but it’s kind of interesting in that 2005 was Iguchi’s first year in the Majors… He played for the White Sox and won a World Series in his first year.  He’d also play for the Padres and Phillies.

The back’s pretty interesting as well…  Wish I could read it.
2005 BBM 1st Version Tadahito Iguchi Golden glove back

On to a League Leader card of Shigenobu Shima of the Carp, who lead the Central League with a .337 average.  2004 was Shima’s first full year in NPB, but he was 28 years old at the time.  In his 9 remaining seasons, he only batted over .300 once.
2005 BBM 1st Version Shigenobu Shima Batting leader

Another card from the same subset… Pacific League Rookie Of The Year Koji Mise.
2005 BBM 1st Version Koji Mise ROY
Mise was another 28 year old rookie.  He got 28 saves for the Hawks, and averaged 9.1 K’s per 9 innings.

From Rookie of the Year to Retirement… This is a nice card commemorating the retirement of Tetsuya Shiozaki.
2005 BBM 1st Version Tetsuya Shiozaki retirement
What’s interesting is that his stats show a guy who had a nice career, but doesn’t appear to have been a superstar… and yet he’s got a card commemorating his retirement.  I like that.
2005 BBM 1st Version Tetsuya Shiozaki retirement back

Wrapping up the pack is a Yomiuri Giants team checklist card.
2005 BBM 1st Version Giants checklist front

…and since I’ve never seen a Japanese checklist before (and I’m guessing many of you haven’t either), here’s the back.
2005 BBM 1st Version Giants checklist back

So that’s kind of an interesting pack… Only 3 of the 8 cards are base cards, which is fine with me, because I don’t really like the base cards.

One thought on “Pack Animal: 2005 BBM 1st Version Baseball

Leave a Reply

