My Latest Attempt To Out-Archive Topps

2016 Topps Archives comes out in June, and this year’s set will focus on the designs from 1953, 1979 and 1991.  Back in January I put Topps “on notice” regarding the 1979 design, stating that they damn well better not screw up the 1979 design, because it doesn’t get any easier than that.  I also included a 1953 custom in that post, just for the heck of it (and to further taunt – errrrr, I mean challenge – Topps).

Well, the third part of that trilogy has been gnawing at me, so I’ve been slowly working on a 1991 Custom.  1991 Topps is one of my favorite sets of the 1990’s;  the design is understated but interesting, plus the set features some great photography.

It took me several attempts at customs based on 91T, but the U.S. Bureau of Photoshopping And Customs has finally given me approval to unveil my version, so here we are.

We’ll start off with a pair of pitching prospects… first off is Aaron Nola of the Philadelphia Phillies. I saw Nola pitch in the minors and was impressed by him, so I’ve adopted him as one of “my guys”, just like when you see a band before they hit it big.
2016 TSRchives 91T-1b Aaron Nola
I kept the Phillies border colors from the 1991 set, but updated the Phillies wordmark.

Another promising young pitcher – but not one I’ve seen in the minors – is the Yankees’ Luis Severino. Although this is none of Severino’s doings, I’m amused by the fact that the Yankees are defensively pointing out that the Mets are not the only team in New York with promising young pitchers.
2016 TSRchives 91T-2b Luis Severino

In case you missed it, Jonny Gomes went to Japan for the 2016 season, and I was sufficiently weirded-out by the photo I saw that I decided that I needed to make a custom of a beardless Gomes in his Rakuten Golden Eagles uniform.
2016 TSRchives 91T-3b Jonny Gomes
Not to mention the other reason I made a custom of a former Major Leaguer in his NPB uniform: BECAUSE I CAN! MWAH-HA-HA-HA-HA-HAAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Fair warning, these may be my last customs for a while;  I really, really need to use my meager free time to finalize my original design 2016 TSR set… I will feel like a failure if I don’t get it in virtual stores by opening day.

14 thoughts on “My Latest Attempt To Out-Archive Topps

    • The banner says “5 YEARS OF CUSTOMS”, a little riff on Topps’ original “40 YEARS OF BASEBALL”. I wasn’t sure how legible it was going to be, so I figured I’d just wait to see if anyone asked… and here we are.

  1. Fantastic job! If I ever make the leap to custom ’90s cards, I think I’d also pick the 1991 set as my first choice for a design.

    • I have not… Yet. The Mets will be wearing 1986 throwback uniforms for the 30th anniversary (damn, I feel old!) of their World Champion team, and I was planning on doing some 86T customs… But I haven’t started on them yet.

      I seem to remember hearing of a website that helps find fonts based on things like whether the font has serifs, how the bottom of a lower-case “g” is formed… But I don’t know if I made not of the URL. If I find it, I’ll update this comment.

      • I never even considered that the top might be a font, that’s great to know! Since I wasn’t planning on doing other teams just yet, I was going to cheat by doing a high-res scan of an 86 Mets card, cleaning it up and using that as my template. I’ll have to reconsider now…

  2. Pingback: Archives Challenge Weekend: 1979 Topps And Other Customs | The Shlabotnik Report

  3. Pingback: Archives Challenge Weekend: 1991 Topps And Other Customs | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

