Shlabotnik Quality Assortment: Willie, Gil, Vic And Sammy

I’ve got a few old items to share today, one owned by me for years, the others were more recent acquisitions… all over 40 years old.

First off is a ticket stub that was stashed away in a metal index card box along with a bunch of other collectibles I’ve had as long as I can remember.
Mets ticket stub 6-9-73
June 9th, 1973…  I’d like to say that this was a pivotal moment in my young life (I was 7 going on 8)… but I unfortunately do not remember it. Baseball didn’t capture my attention until the following year… plus I have a notoriously bad memory… but I have the ticket stub so I presume I was there.

The Mets beat the Dodgers 4-2 on a Saturday afternoon in front of 47,800 fans.  Jon Matlack pitched a complete game, Rusty Staub had 2 doubles and 3 RBI, and Willie Mays hit career homer 655 off of Al Downing (the same pitcher who would give up Hank Aaron’s 715th a little under a year later).

A small cartoon devil did appear on my shoulder while writing this, and tried to encourage me to fake it and say I remembered it like it was yesterday, but I decided to play it straight. It’s still a cool ticket stub.

Vic Power had some power – he hit 126 homers over 12 seasons – but he also won the Gold Glove award 7 years straight, from 1958 to 1964.
1961 Topps Vic Power
He was an All-Star four times, twice with the Kansas City Athletics, twice with the Cleveland Indians.

Gotta love Post cards, gotta love Gil Hodges, put ’em together…
1961 Post Gil Hodges
Like the Vic Power card above, this one is from 1961… Gil’s last year with the Dodgers and his last year of appearing in more than 100 games. After the season, he’d be taken by the Mets in the expansion draft.

I just love this shot of catcher Sammy Taylor posing like an infielder… with his catcher’s glove.
1962 Topps Sammy Taylor
This could almost go into my Mets binder as Taylor would be traded from the Cubs to the Mets early in 1962. He’d last just over a year with the Mets before being traded to the Reds halfway through the 1963 season. The Reds would trade him to Cleveland later in the summer, and he’d finish his career with four games in an Indians uniform.

5 thoughts on “Shlabotnik Quality Assortment: Willie, Gil, Vic And Sammy

  1. The three cards are nice, but that ticket stub is the star of this quality assortment, very cool! Also, I had no idea Vic Power won that many Gold Gloves.

    • SAW THE LATE VIC POWER ( VICTOR PELLOT ) MANY TIMES WHEN HE WAS CONSIDERED ONE OF THE PREMIER GLOVE MEN IN THE GAME …
      HE IS, MOST UNFORTUNATELY, LARGELY UNKNOWN / FORGOTTEN BY ALL THOSE UNDER THE AGE OF 60 BUT WORTHY OF A REVIEW OF HIS FINE CAREER …
      HAVE THREE OF HIS UNIFORMS FROM INDIANS, TWINS AND PHILLIES.

  2. I remember some games I went to as a kid, the ones that stand out are ones that something unusual or cool happened. Like my first ever game where (my Dad claimed) I ate five Yankee Stadium hot dogs*.

    Those are great cards. I am partial to Post cereal cards. I even like the fact that most of them appear to have been cut out by the nine year old kids they were targeted at.

    *=hell, it was a doubleheader. A guy gets hungry.

    • Although I don’t remember which game it was, I remember one where my younger cousin Scott came with us, needed the bathroom during the game, my father took him and found out when he got back that he’d missed a home run. I don’t remember the homer itself, just my father’s distress at missing it.

  3. I feel like ticket stubs are going to be the next hottest thing to collect… and if they don’t… they should be. The fact that your stub is from a game you actually attended is 1000x cooler. I wish I would have kept the ticket stubs from my childhood.

Leave a Reply

