How Can You Laugh When You Know I’m Down?

I’m down (I’m really down)
I’m down (Down on the ground)

My job has me down… I won’t get into how or why, but of late I’ve been making an effort to walk tall, keep my head up and tell myself to not let the melon farmers get me down.  (No, I don’t work for a produce company, you know what I mean.)

…Well…

Yesterday, the melon farmers got me down.  No one thing, lots of little things.  Death by a thousand papercuts.

It’s not so awful as to get me off my lazy butt and look for another job… Not just yet, anyway. But it’s got me down, and I’m having trouble writing a post when my hearts not really in it.

…Which makes it a good time to do one of my “Playlists and cardboard” posts.

Today’s playlist consists of songs with “down” in the title.  There are a ton of them out there, feel free to suggest your own, but these are the ones I like.

(Wearing Down) Like a Wheel – Elliot Easton  (Elliot Easton is an original member of The Cars)

Another Plane Went Down – Shawn Colvin

Breakdown – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers  (I like the “Pack Up The Plantation” live version… “You’re gonna put me out of a job…”)

Burning Down the House – Talking Heads

Communication Breakdown – Led Zeppelin

Don’t Bring Me Down – Electric Light Orchestra

Don’t Bring Me Down – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (Again, live version)
1970 Topps Ron Stone
Don’t Let It Break You Down – Graham Parker

Don’t Let Me Down  – The Beatles with Billy Preston

Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me – Elton John

Down at the Twist and Shout – Mary Chapin Carpenter  (This is a happy song, what’s it doing here?)

Down By The Sea – Men At Work

Down by the Seaside – Led Zeppelin

Down Dallas Alley – Buckwheat Zydeco
2013 Topps Heritage David Robertson
Down From Above – Moxy Früvous

Down On The Corner – Creedence Clearwater Revival

Down to London – Joe Jackson

Down to the Waterline – Dire Straits

Down Under – Men At Work

Downtown – Petula Clark

Get Down On It – Kool & The Gang
1972-73 OPC Rod Seiling
Get Down, Make Love – Queen

Goin’ Down – The Monkees

Going Down to Liverpool – Katrina & The Waves

I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down – Elvis Costello & the Attractions

I’m Down – The Beatles (the “title track” of this post)

Knocked Down, Made Small (Treated Like A Rubber Ball) – Was (Not Was)

Lay It Down – Cowboy Junkies

Long Way Down – Emmet Swimming
1972 Topps Denny Riddleberger
Louisiana Lowdown – Cowboy Mouth

Low Down Man – Squirrel Nut Zippers

Lowdown – Boz Scaggs

Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard – Paul Simon

Naked Girl Falling Down The Stairs – The Cramps

Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out – Louis Jordan

Right Down The Line – Gerry Rafferty
2012 Cooperstown Earl Weaver
Rockin’ Down The Highway  – The Doobie Brothers

Shotgun Down the Avalanche – Shawn Colvin

Slow Down – The Beatles (There are a lot of Beatles songs with “down” in the title, aren’t there?)

Somewhere Down The Crazy River – Robbie Robertson

Sundown – Gordon Lightfoot

Tear This Castle Down – Attila (This was a heavy metal duo featuring a pre-Piano Man Billy Joel.  Billy has described it as “Psychedelic B.S.” and an attempt to “destroy the world with amplification”.  It’s far from Billy’s finest moment, but I like it in a “loud and dumb” way. )

Ten Layers Down – Let’s Active
1978 Topps Bob Gorinski
The Great Suburban Showdown – Billy Joel

The Old Man Down The Road – John Fogerty

The Turnpike Down – The Lemonheads

There’s A Guy Works Down The Chip Shop Swears He’s Elvis – Kirsty MacColl

Tie Your Mother Down – Queen

When Heroes Go Down – Suzanne Vega

When the World Is Running Down, You Make the Best of What’s Still Around – The Police

11 thoughts on “How Can You Laugh When You Know I’m Down?

  1. Bill Joel and heavy metal – how did this miss my music radar? I must search this out!

    Also, sorry to hear about work – here’s hoping the tide turns in a positive way very soon.

    • Attila and his prior band The Hassles didn’t generate a lot of record sales at the time, although I get the impression that the Hassles were popular on the Long Island club scene. I think they were both pretty good in their own way, but I’m far from objective

  2. Hang in there! I went through a difficult time with my former employer 3 years ago, leading me to a new job where I’m much happier today. Throughout the entire ordeal, I kept these wise words from my paternal grandmother in the back of my mind: “No matter how hard you try, you can’t polish a turd.” Amen.

  3. All Fall Down – Five Star
    All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down – Mavericks
    Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Paul McCartney & Wings
    Down By The River – Neil Young
    Don’t Let The Joneses Get You Down – Temptations
    Down And Out – Ringo Starr
    Down Came A Blackbird – Lila McCann
    Down On Me – Big Brother & The Holding Company
    Downtown Venus – PM Dawn
    Follow You Down – Gin Blossoms
    My Love Will Not Let You Down – Bruce Springsteen
    Over Under Sideways Down – Yardbirds
    Showdown – Electric Light Orchestra
    Sold Me Down The River – The Alarm
    Take Me Down – The Loud Family
    When The World Is Running Down You Make The Best Of What’s Still Around – Police
    You Can’t Sit Down – Dovells

    Of course “I’m Down” is the best of them all!

  4. Hope things turn around for you in the very near future. You post made me look up “melon farmers”. Never actually heard the term before. Plus… I never realized there were so many great hits with the word “down” in the title. Not sure if you’re into Blink182… but I’ve always liked their song “Down”.

  5. I made The Police song into a post once. My favorite version of “Going Down To Liverpool” is by the Bangles, believe it or not.

    Job aggravations ebb and flow. You’ll know when it’s time to get out … if it gets to that point.

Leave a Reply

