PWE Playhouse: A SuperTrader I Ain’t

Let’s put it this way… If there were a Trading Hall Of Fame, the only way I’d get in is if I paid admission.

The reason I’m trashing myself here is because Shane from Shoebox Legends sent me two different PWE’s and not only have I not reciprocated, but I’ve also waited so long to post about them that I’ve lost track of which cards were in which PWE… So I’m just pooling them together and posting them in two parts.

Mea culpa, Shane, there’s a PWE winging it’s way to you right now.

2007 Bowman Heritage Prospects is an insert set I’ve always liked… it’s based on the 1954 Red Heart Dog Food set, which falls into my “I like it, but not at those prices” category.
2007 Bowman Heritage Prospects Leo Daigle
The 2007 set is not exactly brimming over with prospects who panned out – the biggest names out of 100 seem to be Jeff Samardzija, Daniel Murphy, Luke Hochevar and Dellin Betances – but it’s just a great looking set.  It’s obvious that Leo Daigle is not one of those prospects who made it, but how far did he get?  Well, he made it up to AAA with the Tigers and White Sox organizations, and in 2006 he batted .233/15/63 at AA Bowie… and that seems to be the end of the road for Mr. Daigle.

Daniel Murphy is the biggest Mets name in the set.  The biggest Orioles name is Ryan Adams, who went on to play 29 games with the O’s in 2011.  In researching “Baseball Ryan Adams”, I ran across the Wikipedia entry for musician Ryan Adams, and found that he had been in a band called “The Patty Duke Syndrome”, which I’m retroactively nominating for “Band Name Of The Month”.

This is my first 2015 Bowman’s Best card and my first Bowman’s Best card, period… plus it features Senor Entreverado himself (I think that means “Mr. Streaky”).
2015 Bowman Best Yoenis Cespedes
Not only is this a nice-looking card, I realized when I put it in my current Mets roster binder that this is my first card showing Cespedes with the Mets.  I’m not sure how I went so long without any Mets cards of Yo.

I’m generally not a shiny card guy, but 2014 Topps Finest is another shiny set that I like.. and I’m not sure why. Both the shinyness and the design are not the type of thing that would normally appeal to me, but they work for me. First up is Rafael Montero, who just got (or is about to just have been, I’ve lost track) called up from AAA Las Vegas.
2014 Topps Finest Rafael Montero
blah blah

The other card features Travis d’Arnaud.
2014 Topps Finest Travis d'Arnaud
Off the top of my head I can’t think of anything to say about Travis, so I’ll mention that his older brother Chase is playing for the Braves’ AAA team in Gwinnett County, GA.

Going back a little further, here’s a 1993 Pinnacle card of Mike Mussina.
1993 Pinnacle Mike Mussina
It’s been 16 years, but I still regard Moose with a general “You HAD to go to the Yankees, didn’t you?  Couldn’t go to the Indians like the rumors said,it HAD to be the Bronx…”

…And I’ll close out with a couple of Orioles catchers.

First off, Jeff Tackett. He was a backup from 1991 to 1994, which means he came just before I started following the O’s. As a result, I can’t really say much about Tackett. He played for the Orioles. He played in AAA for the Tigers and Rangers after that.
1993 Fleer Ultra Jeff Tackett

Rick Dempsey I remember, plus there’s no escaping him if you watch the Orioles pregame show.
2013 Panini Hometown Heroes Rick Dempsey
Mrs. Shlabotnik really likes this card… Rick is a sort of second-tier guy for her, with Cal Ripken and Brian Roberts as the top tier.

So that’s part 1 of this particular bout of PWE. Thanks again, Shane! I’ll have Part 2 out here next week.

5 thoughts on “PWE Playhouse: A SuperTrader I Ain’t

  1. Hah don’t worry I hardly remember sending you these I’ve been so upside down. I am glad you enjoyed a few of them. I can’t even keep track of who I owe cards to and who I don’t anymore, so I just send whenever I have the time.

  2. Jeff Tackett got to be the starting catcher for the Orioles for a bit during 1992 when Chris Hoiles got hurt. Which meant that he got to be in the movie “Dave” when they filmed the scene with Kevin Kline throwing out the first pitch at Camden Yards. He even made it into the trailer: http://youtu.be/PTTe-rxTyh0

    So that’s Jeff Tackett, movie star. He even has an entry in IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0846221/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1. (It looks like he also appeared in “Bob Roberts” too)

  3. Pingback: PWE Playhouse: Ain’t A Supertrader Part II | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

