Oddball du Jour: A Bag Of 1987 Topps Baseball Coins

Late last year I ran across a dealer selling a Ziploc bag containing a number of 1987 Topps Coins. I love oddballs, but I generally love cardboard oddballs. Coins aren’t generally something I bother with, but this bag had a Cal Ripken showing, plus it was cheap, so I got wild and impulsive and bought it.

…And then forgot about it for 5-6 months.

At some point in the past couple of weeks, I remembered the coins and went into Shlabotnik Report World Headquarters to get them off the floor where I’d left them. I went through the bag and, after finding a checklist, discovered I had about half of the 48 coin set, plus I got a number of Mets and Orioles to slot into my team collections.

The thing with these coins is that you can’t really scan them, so I ended up taking pictures with my phone, and since I don’t have anyplace really conducive to taking these kinds of pictures, everything is taken from an angle.

I don’t really have a lot to say about these, so I’ll just do a bit of show and tell. Hier is der front of ein Gary Carter coin…
1987 Topps Coins Gary Carter

Und hier ist der back…
1987 Topps Coins Gary Carter back
…there’s no reason for the mock German, just go with it.

My two other Mets, Dwight Gooden and Keith Hernandez.
1987 Topps Coins Gooden Hernandez

Cal Ripken and Eddie Murray
1987 Topps Coins Ripken Murray

Next to the word “modesty” in the dictionary are pictures of Reggie Jackson and Rickey Henderson.
1987 Topps Coins Reggie Rickey

Nolan Ryan and Ryne Sandberg
1987 Topps Coins Ryan Sandberg

Wade Boggs and Roger Clemens
1987 Topps Coins Boggs Clemens

Kirk Gibson and Tony Gwynn
1987 Topps Coins Gibson Gwynn

That’s not the extent of the bag, just the highlights.

Also in the bag was one unopened pack, which I’ll most likely open and share in another post. 
1987 Topps Coins pack
I was going to put it up for a reader poll on whether or not I should open this, and then I realized it was a pointless idea, because I *am* going to open it. Just not now.

5 thoughts on “Oddball du Jour: A Bag Of 1987 Topps Baseball Coins

  1. That’s some major coin!

    I can’t say that I’ve ever been into this concept myself – I guess if my coins can’t buy me a Pepsi, I’m not all that interested. I would like to see what a cashier would say if I tried to use these as legal tender though.

  2. They make pages to hold these things but they kind of mess up the binder so I do like you and keep ’em in a bag. I like the ’64s in particular.

  3. BEST STORAGE IDEA DISCOVERED IS THESE FIT PERFECTLY INSIDE ANY TOILET ROLLS OR PAPER TOWEL ROLLS WHICH CAN THEN HAVE A FORMED PAPER BOTTOM ATTACHED WITH TAPE AND STOOD UP ON A SHELF SO THEY CAN BE POURED OUT EASILY AND STAY IN NUMBER ORDER.

  4. Pingback: Baseball Card Blogs Weekly Roundup – Purple Rain Edition (April 16-22, 2016) - Wax Pack Gods

  5. Pingback: Pack Animal: 1987 Topps Coins | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

