Epic Throwdown: Head Cold vs. M-W-F Schedule!

About a week ago I woke up with a congested head and a slightly sore throat. As someone who’s suffered from allergies all his life, I know when something is more than that, and this was a cold coming on. As it turns out, it wasn’t a bad one… I didn’t end up watching daytime TV while surrounded by used tissues… but it did sap me of a lot of energy and brain power, and when I woke up this morning I realized that I needed to post something but had nothing ready.

The “need” to post wasn’t from a overwhelming desire, those posts almost write themselves. No, this was “need” as in “trying to stick to a schedule”. I doubt anyone would pick up on this if I didn’t say something, but I’m in the process of transitioning from an every-other-day posting schedule to a Monday-Wednesday-Friday-plus-one-weekend-post schedule. Not a big shift, but it means an extra post every other week.

So I’m looking through my drafts folder and find nothing but fragments and half-baked ideas… So I’m going to throw all those together and hope that the end result is more like side two of “Abbey Road” and less like the disjointed ramblings I fear it will end up being.

Before this year’s Heritage came out I did a post about 1967 Topps, and an early draft mistakenly included two 1969 cards. Since they were already scanned and uploaded, I figured I’d save them for later. Guess what? It’s later.

This is Curt Flood’s last Topps card where he wasn’t looking skyward to obscure the logo on his cap.
1969 Topps Curt Flood
His 1970 card showed him as a Phillie, but he never played for them. His 1971 card showed him as a Senator, and he played just 13 games for that team. Flood played for 4 teams, and luckily for Topps they were all teams with red caps (he started his career with the Reds).

Bob Watson… What can I say about Bob Watson? For starters, this is his rookie card…
1969 Topps Bob Watson
The position on the card is “C-OF”, but over 17 seasons he appeared in just 10 games as a catcher, scattered among 1969, 1970 and 1973.

Quite a while ago I bought a box containing a large chunk of someone’s childhood card collection. It was mostly baseball and mostly 1980’s commons, but there were a few gems that made the amount of sorting worthwhile. One was this 1968 Topps Football card, and I kept it because I like the design and somehow didn’t have any other 1968 Football in my collection.
1968 Topps Football Bobby Walden
As it turns out, Bobby Walden played for two of my favorite football teams. Before the Vikings, he played for my favorite (relatively speaking) CFL team, the Edmonton Eskimos. After the Vikings, he played for the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Here’s a card from 1972/73 Topps Hockey that features an interesting action shot.  The Ranger is Walt Tkaczuk, the Bruin is… Ed Johnston?  I think?  Help me out here, Bruins fans.  Ed Westfall, in his final season with the Bruins before going to the expansion Islanders.  (Thanks to Mark Hoyle for the ID)
1972-73 Topps Hockey Bruins Rangers Game 4
The Bruins beat the Broadway Blueshirts in this game, and would go on to win the Stanley Cup.

This 1997-98 Upper Deck Collector’s Choice hockey card of Team Canada’s Judy Diduck proves that goofy photos are not strictly a man’s domain.
1997-98 UDCC Hockey Judy Diduck
With Team Canada, Diduck was a 4-time Gold Medalist in the World Championships, and won a Silver in the 1998 Nagano Olympics.

Judy is in the Ringette Hall Of Fame, and I had to look up what “Ringette” is… It’s a sport similar to hockey but instead of a puck there’s a rubber ring, and the sticks are just that – sticks. No blade. I’m probably oversimplifying and getting countless facts wrong, so I leave it to you to find out more if you’d like to (how’s that for a cop-out?)

Oh, and Judy is the sister of former NHLer Gerald Diduck.

…And in the end
The love you take
Is equal to the love you make.

See? Just like Abbey Road.

4 thoughts on “Epic Throwdown: Head Cold vs. M-W-F Schedule!

Leave a Reply

