…No, I Didn’t Make Up ‘Ringette’

…Although I wouldn’t rule out that I’ve fallen for an elaborate hoax involving numerous websites and YouTube videos…

Yesterday, one of the cards I’d featured was of former hockey Olympian and World Champion Judy Diduck.
1997-98 UDCC Hockey Judy Diduck
I’d mentioned that Judy was in the Ringette Hall Of Fame, and I got a couple of comments jokingly accusing me of having made up Ringette.

…and I said “Hmmm, there’s a post in there…”

On top of that, over the past 5-10 years I’ve learned of a number of sports that I had never knew existed… either from friends who grew up outside of the U.S., or from looking at the cable channel guide early on a weekend morning and saying “What the heck is that?”

…and I said “Hmmmm, there’s a custom set in there…”

So after a crappy afternoon at work when two printers conspired against me and jointly refused to print one 36-page report, I needed a creative outlet.  It came in the form of a faux tobacco set called “Sports Of The World”.

2016 Simon & Gintfunkel Sports Of The World ringette 2

Ringette is a variation on ice hockey that was invented in the early 1960’s as a winter sport for girls.  The most obvious difference is that the sticks are straight and don’t have a blade like a hockey stick, while the puck is replaced by a blue rubber ring (you can see one getting past the goalie in the image above).

There are other differences between ringette and ice hockey.  Intentional body contact is not allowed, one can’t carry the ring across the blue lines, there is a 30-second shot clock and only three skaters from each team may be in the end zone at the same time.

Less obviously, since it’s a ring instead of a puck, players can use their sticks to throw the ring.

Ringette was invented in Canada, but is played internationally.  The World Ringette Championship was recently played in Helsinki, Finland.  Although Canada largely dominated in pool play (going 6-0 with 126 goals scored and 6 goals allowed) and won the President’s Trophy, they were beaten for Sam Jack’s Trophy by almost-as-dominant Finland.  Other participating countries were the United States, Sweden, Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

So that’s about everything I was able to learn about ringette on a Saturday morning.

I’ve got two more sports in mind for this series, but I’m willing to keep going with these as long as both you and I have interest… and as long as there are sports out there that people will accuse me of making up.

4 thoughts on “…No, I Didn’t Make Up ‘Ringette’

  1. Ringette was fairly popular when I was younger. There were teams in the small towns of Northern Ontario and they had tournaments like in hockey.. The Terrace Bay team was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

