PWE Playhouse: Ain’t A Supertrader Part II

In which I go further into the cardboard delights sent by Shane of Shoebox Legends.  Should one be interested, one can find Part I here.

Before we go any further, let’s share the official logo of PWE Playhouse.

PWE Playhouse

…And now, let us conclude the pair of posts highlighting the contents of the past two PWE’s obtained from that far and distant land known as Shoeboxia.

David Segui got around a bit, playing for the Mets, Expos, Mariners, Blue Jays, Rangers and Indians, while beginning and ending his career with the Orioles.
1993 Fleer Ultra David Segui
Segui got one vote during his one year of HOF eligibility (2010).  His father, Diego, pitched for both the Seattle Pilots and the Seattle Mariners.

This is a 2006 Fleer Stars Of Tomorrow card of David Wright. It appears to have been some sort of insert in 2006 Fleer (as distinct from 2006 Fleer Tradition).
2006 Fleer Stars Of Tomorrow David Wright
As it is, I had to use the Browse feature of COMC to  “drill down” through 2006 Fleer sets and determine which set it comes from. At any rate, I’ve never seen these cards before, but now that I’ve got the one Met (and there are no Orioles) I need never be concerned with it again… Unless I decide to be a master collector of Jeff Francoeur.

I showed some 2013 Panini Hometown Heroes Orioles in the last post, here’s a New York Met…
2013 Panini Hometown Heroes Cleon Jones
I really like it when card companies feature “second tier” Mets old-timers like Cleon Jones… It makes for a nice break from Tom Seaver and Nolan Ryan (not that I don’t love those guys as well).

2013 Topps Spring Fever card of Nick Markakis… I don’t have a local card shop, much less a Topps Authorized shop that has these cards, so I don’t have many… or any… of these. Well, I have at least one.
2013 Topps Spring Fever Nick Markakis
There’s a petulant part of me that wants to ask Nick how his contract with the Braves is working out. I would imagine there are a sufficient number of disgruntled O’s fans already doing this through social media.

David Wright short print! This is very welcome, because I usually wait a while before tracking down short prints, hoping that the lessening demand will bring the prices down some.
2015 Topps Heritage David Wright
The good thing about the Mets achieving respectability is that we get to see inserts featuring someone other than David Wright. The bad thing is that the short prints also go beyond David Wright, so it’s going to take me a while to track down these SP’s at a price that satisfies my cheap self.

1960-61 A&BC Footballers! Woooooooooooo!
1960-61 A&BC Peter McCall
Now I’ve got 7% of the set!  Which is far better than 0%… I tried to research Peter McCall, and basically could only confirm that he played football in England. You’ve got to love this card, though. Pity my scan is washed out.

Here’s the back of this glorious card.
1960-61 A&BC Peter McCall back
I guess it has something to do with the position he plays (I’m not really familiar with the positions involved in soccer), but I love the line about “Likes to have the occasional shot on goal”, as if there’s anybody on the pitch who says “Oh, man…  Do I HAVE to take a shot on goal?”

Muchas gracias, Shane! As always, these are much appreciated!

8 thoughts on “PWE Playhouse: Ain’t A Supertrader Part II

  1. Not only did Diego Segui pitch for both Seattle teams, he actually appeared in the first game for both teams – he pitched three innings in relief in the Pilots opener and started (a href=”http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/SEA/SEA197704060.shtml”>the Mariners opener. David Segui had a brother named Dan who played in the Mets organization for a few years in the late 1980’s and his son Cory was in the Orioles organization in the past few years.

  2. Center back is like the last line of defense in soccer/futbol. So those guys typically never shoot except for weird situations after free kicks/corner kicks/penalties.

    The more you know!

    • Ah! Thank you, sir. I enjoy watching soccer but the extent of my education amounts to one friend who taught me German words to yell at the players… None of who were German, but it was still fun to yell “Schiess!” At the players. (FYI, that means “Shoot!”)

  3. That McCall is sweet! A decade ago, I knew barely anything about the sport. These days… I can’t name a lot of players, but I really enjoy watching games. Watching teammates patiently set each other up is truly a work of art.

  4. Glad you liked the cards! Sorry it took me so long to respond, I’m actually away at a BRUTAL IT training/boot camp/certification program, so it’s scheduled posts for me this week and barely a few min a day to read other blogs…

  5. It was sometime in the early 1990s before I could close my eyes and try to fall asleep at night without the nightmarish vision of Cleon Jones squeezing the last out of the 1969 World Series flashing thru my head. Thanks for reviving that.

    OTOH….the AB&C Football set is one of the great unappreciated gems of the collecting world. It’s hard to see one posted someplace and not smile.

    So, on balance, this is a cool post.

Leave a Reply

