Four From 1970

Back in the days before I started this blog, I considered myself a set collector, even though the evidence in front of me (a long string of partially-completed sets) said otherwise.

Over the past couple of years, I’ve come to realize that I don’t really collect with completion as the goal, I collect with satisfaction as the goal.  If it’s a set I really love and to which I have an emotional attachment, like 1973 Topps, then I won’t be satisfied until I have all of the cards.

Other sets have a lower satisfaction threshold… For example, on certain sets just completing my team sets and player collections is good enough for me.  There are also sets to which I say (to paraphrase the famous Bob Mankoff cartoon), “How about none?  Does none work for you?”

One particular level of satisfaction that I’m increasingly finding myself pursuing is to collect until I’m satisfied that I’ve gotten every card from the set that fits into my budget.  I’m currently working on that with 1972 Topps, and I’m pondering making a run for a 1979/80 Topps/OPC Hockey frankenset of every card *except* for the Wayne Gretzky rookie which would never be worth to me whatever I spent on it, and even if my long lost Uncle Thaddeus were to bequeath me a Gretzky rookie in his will, I’d sell/trade it for other cards I want more.  But anyway…

I’ve never entertained the thought of collecting the entire 1970 Topps baseball set… well, not since I was a kid and was determined to collect every baseball card there ever was…  but that hasn’t stopped me from buying something like one or two hundred 1970 cards over the past couple of years.  This is very much a “collect ’em until I’m satisfied that I’ve gotten every card I can fit in my budget” set.

So the point of all this is that I’ve acquired a bunch of 1970 Topps baseball, and I’m going to get back to sharing them.

A miscut card with some kind of sticker up top. Gotta love it.
1970 Topps Pat Corrales
Pat Corrales played 9 years in the majors but never played more than 63 games. He did make the 1965 Topps All-Star Rookie team, and as backup catchers tend to do, he later managed the Phillies and Indians.

Few people know that Conan O’Brien pitched for the Twins…
1970 Topps Jim Kaat
In 1966 Jim Kaat lead the league with (takes deep breath) 25 wins, 41 starts, 19 complete games, 304.2 innings pitched, 1227 batters faced, 271 hits (that one’s a bad thing) and most interesting, 1.6 walks per 9 innings and 3.73 K’s per walk. He was also a Gold Glove, an All-Star and finished 5th in MVP voting (but no Cy Young votes). Kaat also won 16 consecutive Gold Gloves.

Byron Browne’s card caught my eye because he looks like some random friendly guy that they put on a baseball card.
1970 Topps Byron Browne
He was (obviously) new to the Phillies in 1970, having come over from St. Louis in the infamous Curt Flood deal. In 1966 he was a Topps All-Star Rookie and he had good power but struck out a lot (leading the league with 143 K’s in 1966).

Tom Terrific, fresh off the Mets’ World Championship!
1970 Topps Tom Seaver
In 1970 Seaver was still only 25, had an 18-12 record for the 83-79 Mets and lead the league in ERA (2.82) and K’s (283).

For the record, I’m going to make this a semi-regular feature… and probably mix in similar posts with 1972 cards (which I’ve also acquired a fair chunk of).

 

5 thoughts on “Four From 1970

  1. The 70 set is the last set I need to complete to have the complete run of 70’s sets. Presently have 71-95 complete. It’s been 2/3 complete for years. I pick up cards here and there. Because I have no list I often grab cards I already have. So I do have some dupes if you need some. I actually went backwards and worked on the 67 set. Still need one card. The 72 set is a real challenge

    • Thanks, Mark! I’ll keep that in mind for when I’ve got my act back together. I was fairly organized with 1970 at one point, but I’ve lost control again with cards in binders, cards in a stack on my desk, cards in a box in my dining room, cards airing out in my garage (because they smelled so badly of someone’s basement)…

  2. Your description of collecting until you’re satisfied is spot on. It’s how I’ve been feeling/approaching things for a while now only I never articulated it as well as you did here, thanks for the awakening!

  3. Pingback: Four From 1970 — The Shlabotnik Report – muddled musings of a mangled mind

Leave a Reply

