HOFers From A Dimebox (Six Months Ago)

Over the past 6-9 months I’ve been letting myself get pulled in many – probably too many – directions, hobby-wise.  Because I’ve allowed myself to fall prey to Bright Shiny Objects Syndrome, I’ve lost track of where I’ve been on a number of things.

At a show I went to last November I bought several hundred cards from dimeboxes, and since many of them smelled overly much like musty basement, I set the open box out in the garage to air out a little bit before I did anything with them.

They aired out… and I forgot about them.  Didn’t scan them, didn’t update my wantlists, nothing.  They sat there, neglected.

…Until this past weekend, anyway.  Nicer weather means yardwork, yardwork means doing stuff in the garage and doing stuff in the garage makes me look around, see boxes and say “Aw, crap, I forgot about those!”

On the plus side, it’s almost like getting new cards again.

Anyway, here are five dime box finds of varying excitement, all featuring players from the Baseball Hall Of Fame.

It’s amazing what nostalgia will do for you.  I like these Pirates uniforms much more now than I did at the time.  “Pops” ain’t too shabby, neither.
1982 Donruss Willie Stargell
…But I will make it clear that I have no desire for the Pirates to go back to wearing uniforms like these more than on home Sunday games.

From one dime box I got a nearly-complete set of 1985 Topps Rack Pack Glossy inserts. Now the question is how hard I should work towards completing it ( the few cards needed don’t fall into any other collection goals, so it would be completing for the sake of completing).
1985 Topps Rack Pack Glossy Rod Carew
Rod Carew de Angel, ommmm
Nothing’s gonna change my world
Nothing’s gonna change my world…

I was surprised I didn’t have this card in my Ripken collection… But I don’t want to even think about how many different Cal Ripken cards there are all together…
1991 Fleer Ultra Cal Ripken
It’s not generally surprising that I don’t have an Ultra card… I pretty much skipped past these when they were new, because they were more expensive than I wanted to pay. Now I can be smug knowing that I had to wait just 25 years to get these from a dime box.

This 1972 Kellogg’s Tom Seaver looks much nicer in this scan than it does in reality.   The bottom left corner is missing, and the left edge looks like a plastic-loving rodent decided to snack on it.
1972 Kellogg's Tom Seaver
On the plus side, it’s uncracked and cheap. It’ll do quite nicely until a future opportunity to upgrade.  (Spell-check fun:  The original draft of this sentence was spell-checked into “…until a girl tire opportunity…”)

This is a very well-loved 1973 Kellogg’s Jim Palmer. It’s creased to hell, it’s got scribbling on the back, it’s dog eared and it’s from the one year that Kellogg’s wasn’t 3-D…
1973 Kellogg's Jim Palmer
…but it was a dime. To paraphrase the line from RoboCop, “I’d buy that for a tenth of a dollar!”

That’s it for today, I’ll be back again sometime (less than six months if all goes as planned) with more from the thoroughly enjoyable dime box from November.


Shlabot-Notes:  We’ve got a new record-setting Topps Now card…  on the low end. Card #67, commemorating Chris Ianetta’s 11th inning walk-off homer against the Rays on May 11th, sold only 215 copies.  Bartolo Colon remains king of the hill with a 8,826 card print run.

8 thoughts on “HOFers From A Dimebox (Six Months Ago)

  1. There aren’t too many things sweeter than Kellogg’s dime box finds. Great stuff. By the way… I’ve been on this binder collection kick… where I put a series of inserts sets or subsets into binders for easy viewing. One of them is all of the 80’s Diamond Kings. Another are the 80’s/90’s Topps Toys ‘R Us rookies sets. And the third one is the Topps All-Star glossy inserts.

Leave a Reply

