2016 TSR – This Pack Was Going To Have A Theme… But It Doesn’t

You don’t need a themed pack anyway, right?

That’s what I thought.

2016 TSR wrapper series one thumb

Sean Manaea is one of two players the A’s got from the Royals for Ben Zobrist last July. His first three MLB starts were a bit… ugly… but he got his first Major League win this past Monday. That’s not why he’s here, though. He’s here because I like the slightly crazed look  he has in this photo I used for his custom.
2016 TSR #10 - Sean Manaea
Supposedly Manaea is called “Baby Giraffe”, but that can’t be right, Brandon Belt is the Baby Giraffe! Only one Baby Giraffe per Bay Area, please.

Martin Prado is among the MLB leaders in batting average… and thanks to Gabriel Iglesias, every time I see his name I think “MarTEEEEEEEEEEN!”
2016 TSR #76 - Martin Prado
It seems like Prado has been around a long time, but he’s only in his 11th season. …”only”…

Time for a TSRchives card! Noah Syndergaard is deep in thought, trying to remember the next time the Mets and Pirates wear their excellent throwbacks.
2016 TSRchives 86T-3 Noah Syndergaard
Note to Noah: Tomorrow, Sunday May 22nd. Look for more of these next weekend.

Jackie Bradley Jr. has achieved something absolutely remarkable.
2016 TSR #77 - Jackie Bradley Jr
I’m not talking about his active 25-game hitting streak or his tied-for-the-MLB-lead 4 triples. I’m talking about the fact that I picked him up off of waivers for my fantasy team over a week ago, and he’s still playing well! Normally being acquired for my team is the kiss of death for hot players.

To say that Pete Mackanin’s Phillies are playing beyond expectations is a mild understatement.
2016 TSR MC-1 Pete Mackanin
They were supposed to be in the depths of the NL East along with the pathetic Braves (good luck, Brian Snitker), but instead are in second place (ahead of the Mets, gosh darnit!) with a 24-18 record despite being outscored 171 to 137. I have yet to see them play, but they seem like a fun team to watch.

One more insert, plus a BONUS insert, freshly created just for this pack! How can you not love that?

Inbee Park took advantage of an off week on the LPGA tour; she made a trip to Seattle, met with fellow South Korean and Seattle Mariner Dae-Ho Lee, and threw out the first pitch before the Mariners game.
2016 TSR CFP-3 Inbee Park
I knew virtually nothing about Park before coming across this image. She’s currently ranked #2 in the world, has 17 career victories, 82 Top 10’s, and a bunch of other impressive-sounding accomplishments that I don’t fully understand because I don’t follow or play golf.

So inspired was I by Ms. Park that I whipped up a new template based on the 1990 Pro Set PGA Tour set.
2016 TSR Faux Set Inbee Park
…And decided that, in the future, any professional athlete who gets featured on one of my “Ceremonial First Pitch” inserts will also get an appropriate custom for their sport.

…And also decided that I need to get some golf cards for my “type” collection,

3 thoughts on “2016 TSR – This Pack Was Going To Have A Theme… But It Doesn’t

  1. KOREA HAS TURNED OUT SOME REALLY GOOD GOLFERS IN THE LAST NUMBER OF YEARS AS FEW WOULD THINK THOSE FROM THAT SIDE OF THE PACIFIC WOULD BE AT OR NEAR THE TOP OF THE YEARLY RANKINGS.

Leave a Reply

