Archives Challenge Weekend: 1991 Topps And Other Customs

As I mentioned yesterday, Topps Archives hits the shelves this coming week and I thought it would be fun to pick current players from the checklist (at least two for each design), make my own customs and hopefully when we’re able to compare my customs to the actual Archives cards, I’ll be the one dropping the mic.

Again with the disclaimer for people who don’t read the opening paragraph…

THIS IS ***NOT*** A PREVIEW OF 2016 TOPPS ARCHIVES!

THESE ARE CUSTOM CARDS I MADE USING THE 2016 TOPPS ARCHIVES CHECKLIST AS A STARTING POINT!

Adam Jones is card 91T-4 in my TSRchives set, but he’s #214 in 2016 Topps Archives. The font I’m using for the player name & position isn’t quite right, but (sob story ensues) I don’t have the resources that Topps has, I’m just a poor, amateur custom card guy. (boo hoo)
2016 TSRchives 91T-4 Adam Jones

When I made my first batch of 1991 customs, I forgot to replicate an important part of the 1991 “design language” – I neglected to have part of the player’s body overlap the borders (at least the inner border). I will direct your attention to Adam Jones’ glove and (just barely) right hand. That first batch of customs got scrapped and redone before I shared them back in March.  I’ll bet a pack of 2013 Panini Triple Play that Topps won’t get this detail right in Archives.

Anthony Rendon is card 91T-5 in my TSRchives set, but he’s #290 in 2016 Topps Archives.
2016 TSRchives 91T-5 Anthony Rendon
One of the reasons I did a Rendon custom was because I wanted to use the Expos color scheme while using the Nationals’ wordmark. I put a fair amount of work into making this template and I want to make it clear that it’s almost entirely recreated and not just borrowing elements from the original cards.  I did use parts of the originals for the logo in the upper left hand corner, but that’s it.  Everything else was redone.

By the way, Topps uses the 1991 design for cards #201 – 300 in the upcoming Archives set, and from the presale material it looks like the wrapper will be based on the 1979 Topps wrapper:

1979 O-Pee-Chee Baseball wrapper

…This is the O-Pee-Chee version, but close enough.

I will be back tomorrow with some 1953 Customs; The 1953 design is used for cards #1 – 100 in 2016 Topps Archives.

I’m still working on my 1953 customs, so if you want me to tackle a particular card, let me know and I’ll do what I can… but please, keep it to current players who are on the checklist from cards 1 to 100 (But if you ask nicely and if I have time, I might fulfill your request anyway).

Bonus custom #1:

I’m going to give you a parallel that Topps does not: Here’s the “1991 Cracker Jack” version of my Adam Jones card.
2016 TSRchives 91T-4 Adam Jones Cracker Jack

Bonus custom #2:

The Athletics’ Khris Davis is not on the 2016 Archives checklist, but Gary from Coco Crisp’s Afro asked me nicely, so I created a 1991 custom for him.
2016 TSRchives 91T-6 Khris Davis

Bonus custom #3:

The Mets are celebrating a “1986 Weekend” to honor the 1986 World Champion Mets, and I thought it appropriate to add 1986 Topps customs to my weekend of Archives customs.

2016 TSRchives 86T-5 Asdrubal Cabrera

Cabrera didn’t do anything of note in last night’s ugly loss to the Dodgers, but it was the best photo available for a player I hadn’t yet given the 1986 treatment.

6 thoughts on “Archives Challenge Weekend: 1991 Topps And Other Customs

  1. Pingback: Archives Challenge Weekend: 1953 Topps And Another 86T | The Shlabotnik Report

Leave a Reply

