Kicking Off The 1992 Frankenset

As many of you know, I experimented with making a “Frankenset” out of my 1994 cards, and the experiment was such a success that I’ve moved on to 1992.

What I’m doing is simple. With the exception of my two team collections (Mets and Orioles), I’m taking all of my 1992 cards from different sets, sorting them by team and player, taking the best base card for each team/player combination and putting that into a “1992 Frankenset” binder. Many of the cards that are not included in my Frankenset will get removed from my collection.

There are many reasons for my going the Frankenset route, but the primary benefits are:

  • I’ve got waaaaaaay too many 1990’s cards, and this gives me a plan of attack, plus motivation, to bring the numbers down.
  • I’ve come to realize that there is no reason to have 5 different cards of Barry Larkin or Craig Grebeck for a given year (No offense intended to Mr. Larkin or Mr. Grebeck).
  • It’s fun to reorganize cards.

I think I’m about halfway through the Frankenset… “think” because every time I think I’m done, I find another batch of cards in some box somewhere.  In the process, a number of cards have caught my eye all over again, and I thought it would be fun to share a few of those.

Back in 1992, the bulk of my pack-buying was Topps and Score; I didn’t bust what was high-end for the time (UD, Stadium Club, Leaf, Ultra), and I didn’t like 1992 Fleer or Donruss . Looking back, 1992 Score ain’t no great shakes either, but there are some good cards like this one…
1992 Score Bill Doran
…not to mention that it’s got a Ryno cameo.

Nothing extra-special about this one, just a nice candid shot.
1992 Topps Casey Candaele

The throwback Reds uni makes this card.
1992 Topps Glenn Braggs

I love any card featuring a manager who’s doing something other than standing around looking managerial.
1992 Topps Jim Leyland

Will Clark gets eye-blacked up before a game.
1992 Upper Deck Will Clark
…And I wonder who that is applying the eyeblack.

Now that I’m done, this almost feels like a a Dime Box post.  I even thought about setting up a poll to let you vote for your favorite common, but I’ve already strayed far enough into Nick’s territory.

4 thoughts on “Kicking Off The 1992 Frankenset

  1. Great cards all around. 1992 Topps had some real gems, I’ve come to appreciate that set quite a bit over the years.

    • I’ve always likes 92T, and it was downhill for Topps for the subsequent 10 years or so. For this Frankenset, whenever it’s a close call between cards, I have a “tie goes to Topps” rule. For the 1990’s, that rule probably only applies to 1991 and 1992.

  2. Probably a good idea, but I’m trying to figure out a way to have fewer binders, not more. One of my solutions right now is to keep cards I don’t really care about in a box. There’s never a time where I’ve believed a non-Dodger from 1992 Fleer deserves a binder.

    • I’m not sure that these Frankensets will remain in binders for the remainder of my days, but right now it is a great aid in getting these cards organized. I found that, in my case, “cards in boxes ” = “out of sight, out of mind”, and if the cards aren’t good enough to be in a binder then maybe I wouldn’t miss them at all if I just got rid of them. I honestly don’t know at this point, I just know I want better organization and less clutter… And I’m having some fun in the process.

Leave a Reply

