My Vintage Mantle Collection (Population: 1)

The other day I was glancing at an article about the 1964 Topps Giants set (a particular favorite of mine), and the article mentioned how many HOFers there are in the set. Featured in the article was the Mickey Mantle card; I happened to have that particular card… Here it is in all it’s oversized glory (Please note that there’s more text after the images):

1964 Topps Giant Mickey Mantle
1964 Topps Giant Mickey Mantle back

I spent all of $3 on it (in the 1980’s, but still), and to this day it’s the only Mickey Mantle card I have from his playing days.  Most importantly to me, it’s the first 1964 Topps Giants card I acquired, and the card that got me into a set I love chasing (damn those short prints, though…)

That got me thinking that I really should highlight more of this all-time-favorite oddball set… and then I got the idea of broadening the scope a little and showcasing any vintage cards I have of HOFers.

Now, unlike a number of other bloggers, I am…. um…  fiscally conservative.  OK, fine, I’m cheap.   There aren’t many vintage cards in my collection that you’d see in a glass display case at a card show. Most of my vintage HOFers are either well-loved or oddballs.

Indeed, that’s the whole point of what I intend to make a series… One doesn’t have to have a 1952 Mantle or a 1968 Nolan Ryan to have a collection you enjoy and are proud of.  I’ve been collecting over 40 years, I’ve got one vintage Mantle to my name, and I’m completely cool with that.  It should always be about collecting what you love.

…And in my case, I love the 1964 Topps Giant set, which just happens to include a bunch of HOFers like Mickey Mantle.

 

 

11 thoughts on “My Vintage Mantle Collection (Population: 1)

  1. I only have three vintage Mantles. The 64 Topps giant is one. Also have a 62 Topps stamp and a 67. No need in chasing other ones unless I’m going for a set. Now , the T. Williams collection is a different story

    • Only three Mantles? That’s gonna put a hurt on “The Legend Of Mark Hoyle”. :-)

      I think the thing with Mickey Mantles is that they’re so expensive (and rumor has it that people are sitting on some of the lesser-condition cards to drive prices up) that you either HAVE TO have them and pay the price, or you say, “Nah, I’m good”.

  2. I feel ya on the “fiscally conservative” front – I too prefer to stick to oddballs and such as supposed to high dollar vintage Hall of Famers. That said, a vintage Mantle for three bucks sound like a cheapskate card collector’s dream!

  3. Love that Mantle. ’64 Topps Giants is one of the most underrated Topps issues ever IMHO. Great checklist loaded with top names. Granted a couple of them are tough to pick up inexpensively but it can be done. I saw a stack of them at the local hotel show on Saturday and I flip thru them because I know Mark Hoyle is looking for the Galen Cisco card which is the rarest of the SPs if my experience means anything. I see a dozen Mays/Koufax/Clementes but never a darn Cisco.

    • IN 1966 AND 1967 GALEN WAS WITH TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS OF THE I.L. WHERE WE BECAME FRIENDS SO OVER TIME ALWAYS SUPPLIED HIM AND MANY OTHERS WITH BASEBALL CARDS FOR THEIR MAIL SIGNING REQUESTS … REMEMBER FINDING A NUMBER OF HIS TOPPS GIANT CARD BUT THEN THEY ALL DRIED UP … PERSONALLY, WE HAVE 4 OR 5 SETS AND A PILE OF EXTRAS ALL OF WHICH ARE GREAT BUT PUZZLINGLY A RATHER UNPOPULAR SET UNTIL RECENT YEARS AFTER SO MANY BECAME COOPERSTOWN LEGENDS WHILE OTHERS THE BETTER NAMES OF THAT ERA … TOO BAD TOPPS NEVER LISTENED TO MOST OF US ‘ PROFESSIONAL ‘ COLLECTORS AND ISSUED OTHER SIMILAR LARGE SETS BUT THAT IS THE TOPPS STORY … ONE YEAR AND OUT !!!

  4. Back in the mid 70’s those sets were available for under 10 bucks a set. I remember buying two sets. Traded one away years ago and the other set now in pages. I wonder why there were soo many around back in 1975?

    • I read one article that referenced an unexpected big find in the 1970’s…. That seems in line with the two sets you bought. I think it was a Sports Collectors Digest article; if I can find it again I’ll post a link.

Leave a Reply

